The year is coming to an end!

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
3 min readDec 2, 2022

Where did the year go?

As I sit on the back porch with my Sidekick, the Grandson, we watch the sun peer through the two Oak trees. Their last bit of orange leaves is clinging on to see which will be the last to fall. Fall is coming to an end for us here. We have about three more weeks left, and then we will embrace winter. The month of December has arrived. I look over at the Sidekick, who cannot sit still whatsoever, and think, where did the time go? The year is almost behind us. He is too busy getting up in the chair, then getting out of the chair. This routine repeats a lot.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

December is here, which brings hope and joy. All the kids are excited about the holiday season. Advent calendars are already being used, and Christmas shows have hit the airways. Houses are being decorated, and Christmas trees are up, but where did the year go? It seems like it flew by.

Photo by David-Olivier Gascon on Unsplash

We all put important dates on the calendar each year to look forward to or for some, so we don’t forget. It gives us benchmarks throughout the year. As soon as one important day passes, we focus on the next important day. It seems we tend to forget the days in between. You know, the day-to-day living that is so important to our lives. We forget the simple smiles. We forget the little “I love you’s.” We forget the goodbyes. We forget just doing homework with the kids or the friendships at work. We forget the struggles along the way, which makes those milestones even more important.

Photo by Kunj Parekh on Unsplash

I watched a video the other day that struck me to the core. In it, the video explained once we are gone that, several of our friends will find an excuse not to come to the funeral. Later as the family is trying to get food ready for everyone, many will remember and tell stories of us. Our employer will already look for our replacement. Within a few months, our very loved ones will laugh without us. Most will carry on with life without us. The point was to stop living your life for others. I understand that, but our families are important. For me, I ask, why not relish our little moments and live every day to the fullest instead of just the calendar-marked days?

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong, when it is my time; I want my family to move forward without me and not be down in the dumps. I want them to live life to the fullest. Hopefully, every now and then, they will do something that will stir a happy memory of something we did together. I don’t think I could ask for more than that.

Photo by Manuel Meurisse on Unsplash

As the Holiday Season approaches and everyone looks forward to these special days, let’s not forget that each day is an opportunity to be special. We just have to make it special.

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"