Vacation

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
4 min readJun 24, 2021

A little time with the family.

This morning I stroll across my yard, determining which plants I have not watered enough. I got back from vacation a few weeks ago and the plants are still suffering. Don’t get me wrong, I had a great caretaker of the house, but they just were not as passionate on the plants as I am. Now I am taking this trail to ponder about this thing we call vacation. What is it? What does it do for us?

I think one should always take the time to reflect on things, it's good for the soul. Regarding our most recent vacation, it was the first time we took the Granddaughter. I will say this, it did not disappoint at all. We got to see the joy in her eyes enjoying some of the simplest things in life. You know getting your toes in the sand, eating S’nores (as she calls them), playing in the waves, going to the aquarium, touching a jellyfish, and the list goes on. These are memories that hopefully she will relish.

For my wife and I, it is rare that we have all our children in one place at any given time. This was no exception. Although we were able to get 3 out of the 5 together. Overall, we had a great time. We injected a shot in the arm for Florida’s economy that is for sure. While there even got to link up with an ole Army buddy. So, I would say this was one of those vacations that we will give an A+ to.

So, what is the big deal of going on a vacation? Why do we feel the need to do this? Is it the adventure of visiting a new place? For some I know they prefer to go to the same place every year. Is a vacation a place where you can just get away for a while and dump all your day-to-day worries? I know when I went on vacation while in the military, I still was checking my blackberry daily and providing direction from afar. For us, we like to go to different places. My wife likes the beach life but doesn’t complain when we go to the mountains or cities. So, what is the big draw of vacations? I think we have to start with the origins for this.

Vacations were originally exclusively for the rich. The common man did not have the luxury to go on vacation. Eventually things became more affordable and convenient, vacations then became more common. If you look at one country for travel, the history is quite telling. In Germany, traveling for fun gained traction in the 18 thcentury. Roughly 1% of the population could travel for fun. Innovations in transportation such as the train started to change this.

Now, we hit a dark part of the history in Germany and that is when the Nazi’s came into power. Up to this point traveling for fun was predominantly for the Upper class. The Nazi party realized that they could seize a lot of support by promising the labor force vacations. The party regarding vacations served the role as a travel agency. They create an organization called ‘Kraft durch Fruede,’ which is Power through Joy, which coordinated vacations. By 1943 the Nazi party stopped the traveling business, but for the common German, they got a taste for this thing called vacationing.

Fast forward to modern times in Germany, just sit down and discuss with a German their “holiday” or vacationing plans. It is with passion; it is their right and no expense is spared. I have seen in America where people will plan for a vacation, and something may happen where they delay the vacation or even back out of the vacation. We have done this numerous times because of the military. This is not the case in Germany. Come hell or high water they are going on their “holiday.” One would be wise not mess with a German regarding their vacation. It is their sacred obligation.

Many know my wife, my Jenny, is from Germany. This year like clockwork she saw the day summer break started from school. My wife already had coordinated the vacation starting almost immediately after the summer break. There can be no delay in going on vacation. Heaven forbids if we delay a week to get started, that would not be proper, and who cares if the plants suffer, lol.

I personally think everyone should embrace some form of vacationing. I personally think it is good for the soul. It re-energizes the batteries, as we would say in the military. One cannot go wrong with building memories with the ones you love. I think I will relish this last vacation all along knowing my wife is already plotting the next one.

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet-Ian Griffin

Originally published at https://shop.thecoachandthevet.com on June 24, 2021.

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"