We are Back for those Friday Thought’s to Ponder!!!

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
3 min readNov 25, 2022

I no longer sit on the front porch watching traffic go by with my Sidekick. Yep, we made the great migration of moving about a mile down the road. So now it is on the back patio, watching the sunrise with the young fella. Yep, it is quite chilly, but we are taking it in.

Photo by Mike Erskine on Unsplash

Today many are out on the courageous conquest of staking their claim on Black Friday. I am having none of that. That is not my cup of tea. It has never been. That doesn’t mean I don’t respect the shopper, especially today. I have mad respect for those courageous individuals. I would rather have other things to be courageous over.

Photo by Tamanna Rumee on Unsplash

Of course, I am a typical shopper. I like shopping at Home Depot, Summit Racing, Duluth, Bass Pro Shop, Burns Gun & Pawn, and Harbour Freight. Most other places are forbidden from my shopping lexicon. Yep, I would shop in the same places that ole “Tim the Toolman Taylor” would shop. However, Mrs. Griffin has banned me from Burns. I often say, “hey Jenny, I am going to Burns to look at a gun.” She would tell me, “One does not go to Burns just to look at a gun. You always come back with one.” So, for some strange reason, I am restricted from the wife to going to Burns.

Photo by STNGR Industries on Unsplash

I am sure it is a frenzy out there as the Sidekick, and I are watching the sun climb a bit more in the sky. I can hear the birds chirping as everyone gets into the holiday spirit. I find many things comforting.

One thing is that it is just peaceful out here. The Sidekick is taking a big sip of some hot chocolate. A smile comes over his face as if he is giving the hot chocolate a sign of approval. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Photo by Hanna Balan on Unsplash

Something else that brings me peace. It is knowing that if the wife ever did lift the restrictions to Burns and grant me a pass to go, hmm, look, lol, at another gun. We don’t have some Governor “wanna-be” trying to “take our damn guns.” Yes, I will sip on some hot chocolate just like the Sidekick did. As I relish the thought that I can purchase what I want and keep what I want. You know, it just soothes my soul.

Photo by Josh Olalde on Unsplash

This is my Friday’s Thoughts to Ponder for the Weekend. It is good to be back.

The Vet

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"