We are not young anymore

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet
2 min readJan 6, 2023

Age is catching up with us.

I sit on the back porch with the Sidekick. He is full of energy.

Yesterday we were raking leaves. Yes, in Texas, January is our fall time. The acorns off the oak tree in the front yard are the size of a ping pong ball. They are huge. The Sidekick helps for about two minutes. Then it is on to other things. Then the attention is fully committed elsewhere. I will get him refocused back to the yard work in another two minutes.

Photo by Ewa Pinkonhead on Unsplash

As we all recovered from the Christmas presents, I realized I was not as agile as I once was. The art of playing with cars on the floor has become a physical feat that requires one my age to survey the landscape first. I surveyed it first for obstacles and second for a route that would provide me enough space to get up off the floor without pulling a muscle. That is important.

Photo by Christian Bowen on Unsplash

I never thought I would be in that position in my life, but hey, here I am. A life without pulled muscles is important. Twenty years ago, I would just plop down wherever and never think twice about it. But as we age, we gain wisdom, patience, and the appreciation of being as injury free as possible.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Maybe this simply hints that I should carry my butt in the gym. It probably is, but I still have some stubbornness to exude before I succumb to such nonsense. In all honesty, I am not far away from that decision. I just don’t want to admit it.

Photo by Anastase Maragos on Unsplash

I know I am not the only one that has to game plan sitting down on the ground before I do.

This is my Friday’s Thought to Ponder for the Weekend.

The Vet

--

--

Ian Griffin
The Coach And The Vet

Ian has received awards in journalism, who is a 31-year Veteran from the Army. Ian is an author of the Rick and Katja series "The Birth of a Spy Couple!!"