Calm During the Perpetual Storm

Nathaniel James Zablan
The Codex
Published in
2 min readNov 9, 2016

My minority mentality reminds me that living well is the best revenge.

My minority mentality reminds me that the racists win often, and that doesn’t stop my fight. It doesn’t stop me from fighting for others.

My minority mentality reminds me that America was never built for me, but I’m still here.

My minority mentality reminds me that there’s always a target on my back, and that there are others with larger targets on their backs.

My minority mentality reminds me that there are only so many parts of America that I can safely visit and/or live.

My minority mentality reminds me that almost all things will pass, even if hate is a constant.

My minority mentality reminds me that even if people have unrealistic expectations of me, I have to rise above my own expectations and not theirs.

My minority mentality reminds me that trust is something that is earned, especially since I’m not in a position where many will give it to me freely — I shouldn’t have to blindly trust anyone else either.

My minority mentality reminds me that seeing people burn their own country to the ground isn’t new.

My minority mentality reminds me that because I’m a third-generation Filipino-American, I will never truly have a home. America does very little to make this place feel like home, and try as I might, I’m incredibly removed from the Philippines and Filipino culture.

My minority mentality reminds me to tell others who are hurting “I see you, I feel you”.

I see you.
I feel you.

This story is part of The Codex, a collective of independent thought. Subscribe to our newsletter to get a weekly digest of our best stories and be sure to like and follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

--

--

Nathaniel James Zablan
The Codex

Portland based hip-hop head, co-host and producer of The Tone Podcast, BurgerTime enthusiast.