How a Breast Cancer Patient’s Strength Inspires Her Doctor

Dealing with cancer and saying thank you

Dr Jeff Livingston
BeingWell

--

Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

She was 34 years old when we discovered her breast cancer. Ten years earlier, I delivered her baby. I watched her grow up. She came for a routine pap smear.

She left with life-changing news.

Exam, mammogram, and biopsy

Her breast cancer was confirmed, and she disappeared. We made phone calls, left messages, and sent certified letters to no avail. In medical terminology, we call this “lost to follow up.” She ghosted us.

We continued our pursuit. Months later she returned. She did not follow up with the breast surgeon or Oncologist. She didn’t like them. Her family had other opinions.

She was angry.

I could feel it.

This was life or death

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I would like to say I encouraged her to seek treatment, but I didn’t. I pushed her to get help. Not a gentle nudge but a shove. It was intervention time. I spoke the cold, hard truth. The goal was to break the dangerous cycle of denial. After…

--

--

Dr Jeff Livingston
BeingWell

Obgyn, Husband, Father, & Entrepreneur. Writing about Women’s Health, Parenting, and Self-improvement. CEO of MacArthurmc.com & founder of Medika.life