AllowInlineMediaPlayback is not AllowsInlineMediaPlayback !

Jérôme Commaret
TheCreative.Cat
Published in
1 min readNov 29, 2016

A funny documentation issue appeared on Apple developer documentation and on Cordova developer documentation.

Loozrboy from Toronto, Canada (Creative Commons)

I just discovered a bug on developers documentation, this bug was causing me a headache so i investigated a little.

I one of my personal projects, using Meteor.js and Apache Cordova, i recently tried to display a video but not fullscreen video.

Here is what the official Apple developer documentation says :

So my mobile-config.js should have look like that :

App.setPreference(‘allowsInlineMediaPlayback’, ‘true’);

But after building the app on Xcode, the video wasn’t displayed as expected.

Somehow, i remebered that there is a “staging” app inside the Xcode project build.

I saw that config.xml settings was named AllowInlineMediaPlayback

So my mobile-config.js should look like that :

App.setPreference(‘AllowInlineMediaPlayback’, ‘true’);

I went on cordova documentation and i saw that the preference is documented correctly

The function name is not spelled exactly the same way, this is a bit confusing, no ?

--

--

Jérôme Commaret
TheCreative.Cat

Front end dev - 🤯 : ADHD - Divergent Thinker - Certificate of Innovation Leadership from Georgia Tech