4 — My Gadgets, My Love

The Creative Entrepreneur
thecreativeentrepreneur
3 min readOct 30, 2020

I love gadgets around me. Yeah, they came and evolved for the best and the worst of society but I ended up becoming a gadget freak when I was less than 5 years old.

I was probably close to 5 when I saw a personal computer for the first time at my neighbor’s place. It was a miracle. It was a Pentium machine back then. The fact that you can play something on the screen was amazing. I was drawn to it.

I got my first gaming console when I was 7. I think it’s called atari, I don’t know exactly. We used to call it VIDEO GAME back then. Every Indian kid back from the 90’s will recognize games like Contra, Super Mario Bros, Street Fighter, etc. I am talking about that gaming console here.

I got my first Personal Computer in 7th grade. I was 14 probably! That changed my life as for the first time I had access to my own computer (I was sharing it with my elder brother). It was amazing! I used to play a bunch of games, browse the internet.

I also used to do some cool stuff like formatting my computer 70 times a year with a pirated copy of Windows XP and installing all software from my collection of CD’s which I never shared with anyone.

Remembering Windows XP with a close match I found on Unsplash

It was because of that computer, that my love for tech increased and I ended up doing something in the tech industry. Well, I am a Digital Designer who ended up becoming an entrepreneur. That’s what makes me a Creative Entrepreneur.

Today my backpack of gadgets includes -

  1. MacBook Air (back from 2013. It’s been running great)
  2. iPad Pro 2020 with a Magic Keyboard (this has started replacing my MacBook, but I go back to it for my design work and calls. I take notes on iPad using Apple Pencil while I am on a video call from my laptop)
  3. OnePlus 6. Great Phone from the last couple of years now
  4. A broken SkullCandy Crusher Wireless 😭 (My eyes on, Sony 1000XM4’s now)
  5. XBOX ONE S with two controllers. If you find me who I am, you’re welcome at my place for a game of FIFA

I use all of these to their maximum potential. I will never upgrade until I find it necessary. But my youtube feed is full of MKBHD, MrWhoseTheBoss, The Verge, Dave Lee, PocketNow, and others. So yeah, I am always updated with all latest and the greatest piece of consumer tech that keeps popping.

If you’re a gadget freak like me, what a time to be alive. 😬

What is your set of gadgets? Let me know in the comments.

--

--