To Get Inspired Do Something Crazy

Read this if you need inspiration for some spontaneity and adventure, or to get out of a rut.

Raj Menon
The Curated Café
2 min readOct 30, 2022

--

Unlock your creativity. Find the doorway to your writing flow.

It’s past 8 AM on a Friday. The show is in 12hrs and there is still no response to my email requesting a change of venue to a location closer to us. I was afraid we are going to lose money on these advance purchase tickets.

My work calls are about to start while my wife is already behind closed doors deep into her inbox of end-of-week to-dos and need-todos.

With absolute certainty that she is going to shoot my crazy idea down, I ask her: “Why don’t we go see the show in Chicago?”

“No way. That’s crazy.”

“I just thought it would be something we could do as a spontaneous trip, a challenge of sorts you know, to see if we can make it there in time. We can take calls on the road. It will be fun.”

After about 15 mins of my wife considering an out-of-the-blue idea coupled with the disappointed look I got on my face, this crazy idea of a road trip to drive almost 500 miles from Nashville to Chicago becomes a reality.

What it turned out to be could have never come from the best-laid plans. It was one of our best weekend getaway road trips.

We drove across 3 state lines and ended up in Bloomington Indiana, where we met some interesting people and had some enlightening conversations.

Read our story here: Split-second Decisions, the making of a spontaneous weekend getaway

It was exactly what I needed to inspire me to start writing again, and what my wife needed to reconnect with the artist in her.

Sometimes we need to make these split-second decisions to break away from the monotony of our post-COVID work-from-home routines of back-to-back meetings and fire-fighting, to bring excitement to our lives and unblock our creative cravings.

When was the last time you let spontaneity take you off on an adventure?

Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

--

--

Raj Menon
The Curated Café

Thought provoking stories that explore and inspire at The Marinade can be subscribed to for free here: rajofftherecord.substack.com