Read This if You Are Over 40

And wake up in the middle of the night.

Raj Menon
The Curated Café
1 min readJul 23, 2022

--

Photo by Danny Lines on Unsplash

I woke up at 2AM again. I can’t sleep. I am lying in bed with my eyes wide open and having these random thoughts.

What lurks in the shadows, is nothing but my imagination.

The house never settles, because the floorboard still creeks.

Loss of bladder control, it’s not a myth after 40.

The light that glimmers in my office reminds me that I have too many gadgets.

My HVAC unit makes weird noises at night and has irregular sleep patterns, I can relate.

The dark circles under my eyes prove that I write all my posts in the middle of the night.

“Nothing good happens after 2a.m.”, said Ted Mosby, which means this post is destined to suck.

If you don’t know who Ted Mosby is, you probably also don’t know “How I Met Your Mother”.

The fact that I referenced a fictional TV character, reveals a lot about my reading habits.

The reason why Medium doesn’t allow posting from their app is to prevent writers from randomly posting from the app.

If this is the last line you are reading, my battery’s dead.

--

--

Raj Menon
The Curated Café

Thought provoking stories that explore and inspire at The Marinade can be subscribed to for free here: rajofftherecord.substack.com