Why Should Anyone Love You?

Pause for a moment, stop what you are doing, and ask yourself that.

Raj Menon
The Curated Café
2 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Photo by De'Andre Bush on Unsplash

Powerful question. Did it cause your mind to shift down a few gears from overdrive? It did for me just yesterday.

I was in a group coaching session, and the coach asked us 10 mins into the session, without warning, to respond in a quick sentence or two, the answer to “Why should you love me?”.

In the few mins I had before it was my turn to share, I cooked up a creative answer. In hindsight, what I said defined what love is and not why I deserve to be loved. I struggled with it because I have never pondered upon that question.

The question peels the outer layers of who you are trying to be and probes your self-worth. What are the traits that others love about you? What is your understanding of your strengths?

When you look in the mirror, who do you see? Do you love that person staring back at you? Your answer is yours alone to comprehend.

Then the coach asked us to text/SMS one or two people in our phone contacts — your spouse, partner, family member, a friend, or colleague — to ask, “What do you value in me?”.

My wife texted back, “Your confidence and steadfast commitment.”

My close friend of 15+ years, also an x-colleague and who is like a younger brother to me, replied that he values my commitment and how I go to any extent to meet them and achieve my goals. He added that I always try to achieve 1 level above what I can and make others as well.

I felt humbled. The responses had similarities in their core message, which made me realize that they recognize who I have always strived to be. I felt validated.

Who am I striving to be? Consciously or unconsciously, that is where I exude all my energy in everything I do. That is what defines me. That’s what I should love about myself.

So why should you love me?

Love me, for I am confident and committed in everything I do. I will always go above and beyond to meet my goals, and if we share that goal I will lead the way so I can help you get there too. I always try new things, and I am fun to hang out with. I am a thoughtful person and I will always stand by you.

--

--

Raj Menon
The Curated Café

Thought provoking stories that explore and inspire at The Marinade can be subscribed to for free here: rajofftherecord.substack.com