Why I returned the Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3

A content creator’s UX led to a return of Samsung’s latest flagship phone

The Curated Post | PixelBoo
TheCuratedPost

--

Let’s begin with the 58% discount preorder

Just like the thousands of avid Samsung phone fans, I was eagerly waiting for the release announcement of the Galaxy Z Fold 3. In the Samsung Unpacked event, the BTS commercial reel (yes, I am an ‘ARMY’), and the technical reviews that occurred within hours of the announcement last August 11, the Galaxy Z Fold 3 appeared to be a must-have gadget.

Image Credit: Samsung

I was convinced! Within minutes of the pre-order window, I signed up. And I was not blindly forking $1,800. Samsung had a tempting deal. $850 in exchange for my pristine one-year-old Samsung Note 20 Ultra, an $85 Save@Work Employee discount, plus a 12% rebate link using Rakuten which equaled $103, meant my out-of-pocket cost would be $762 or 42% of the retail.

A no-brainer, right? Who could pass up a 58% discount on the newest and most advanced cellular phone in the market today? Not to mention the generous pre-order promotion of $200 credit to spend on either accessories or memory expansion. With that bonus I decided to get the highest memory of 512 GB, the black Flip Cover with S pen, another silicone cover in white, and a Galaxy Smart Tag plus.

--

--