Prosperity Lessons for Increased Affluence

Anne Beaulieu
The Curious Leader
Published in
3 min readAug 25, 2021

How much good can you stand?

I live in a beautiful place in the heart of downtown. My street is lined with canopies of trees and colourful flower beds. I love my city. It’s magnificent!

I work with exceptional clients who continue raising the bar in their respective industries. These women entrepreneurs make a profound difference in the lives of the people they serve.

There’s not much I need.

Recently, I was gifted a luscious herb garden that circled me back to my journey to affluence, and I want to share with you the lessons I have learned about prosperity:

#1 Acknowledging affluence takes less effort than focusing on lack.

On a beautiful sunny afternoon, my mentor gifted me a couple sprigs of rosemary. I used them both within a day.

When my mentor gave me more herbs, I started to feel apprehensive. What if I couldn’t use them all right away?

In week three, my mentor gifted me a collection of rosemary, thyme, mint, and other herbs. Externally, I was smiling, but internally, I was stressing about the fastest way to use them.

Subsequently, my mentor gifted me an entire herb garden! My arms were filled with abundant herbs, and I immediately began feeling anxious. How on earth was I supposed to manage an ever-flourishing herb garden?

Focusing on lack makes us falsely believe it would be easier to manage nothing (zero) than to have something.

Acknowledging affluence requires accepting wealth in all its forms, herbs included. Feeling prosperous feels good and takes less effort than focusing on lack — negative feelings suck a lot of energy.

#2 Lack is the true waste.

Imagine being presented with a flavourless dish. As you take your first bite, all you taste is the blandness of the food. How quickly will you find that food repelling? Lack is bland, it has zero flavour, and it repels. Lack is the true waste.

#3 Prosperity is driven by feelings.

Feelings are energy, and money is energy. We either energetically attract money or we repel it. Apprehension, stress, and anxiety are negative feelings that repel money. Feelings of gratitude, appreciation, and joy attract abundance.

Feeling prosperous allows us to enjoy what we have, setting the tone for us to attract more affluence.

In contrast, a lack mentality will constantly fret over the fastest way to return to zero (70% of lottery winners end up broke and a third go on to declare bankruptcy).

#4 Financial realization comes at a price: setting the ego aside.

Denying our feelings (what the ego does) is a recipe for emotional bankruptcy and poor finances because feelings are like water in a tap; the tap is either on or off. We either acknowledge all our feelings or we don’t.

Financial realization happens when we acknowledge all our feelings as the source of our prosperity and affluence.

#5 Genuine accountability partnerships increase prosperity and affluence.

Was my mentor aware of my feelings of apprehension, stress, and anxiety towards his generous gift? Most likely.

Did my negative feelings ever stop him from empowering me? I believe he has an Emotionally Intelligent strategic plan to help me commit to and fulfill an ever-expanding vision of prosperity and affluence.

My mentor is my genuine accountability partner. Everyone needs a genuine accountability partner.

A genuine accountability partner is someone with a profoundly practical Emotionally Intelligent process that will challenge your perspective to show you how to play a bigger game in business and in life.

In recap:

  1. Acknowledge affluence.
  2. Spice money with positive feelings.
  3. Enjoy what you have.
  4. Set your ego aside.
  5. Have a genuine accountability partner.

That day when I walked home with the bouquet of fresh herbs my mentor gifted me, some passersby told me how much they were enjoying the sweet aroma of herbs filling the air. I felt these people energetically leaning towards me, perhaps not even understanding why.

I also encountered people who were quick to tell me how envious they were of my herbs and how they wished it was them carrying a bouquet of fresh herbs. Thinking back on this day makes me wonder …

What would change if you had a genuine accountability partner?

Anne Beaulieu is a Strategic Financial Emotional Intelligence Coach, who is Unwaveringly Bold about Inspiring the Next Generation of Emotionally Intelligent and Strategic Women. You can email Anne at anne@financialeq.coach.

--

--

Anne Beaulieu
The Curious Leader

Emotional Tech© Engineer | Emotional Intelligence, Strategic Planning, AI Integration, Mega-Prompting & Knowledge Base Building Services