Sometimes It’s Better to Be Helpful than Right

David Paull
The Curious Leader
Published in
2 min readFeb 19, 2021

I recently had an interaction with a colleague where I wanted something done one way and they went on to tell me why that wasn’t right. Their way was technically correct, as was mine. I still wanted it done the way I asked and they dug in on it not being right.

There have been many, MANY, times when I believed my way was the right way. I’m a Type A entrepreneur after all. Earlier in my career, I used to take pride in spotting the flaws in someone’s plan and pointing them out. What I wasn’t able to spot until later was how truly unhelpful that was.

If someone is going to genuinely make a mistake then, sure, you should find a tactful way to point it out. However, if it’s a matter of their way versus your way, then you have more to consider.

If I’m asking someone to do something it’s because I’ve determined that they are better suited to do it. Maybe it’s not my area of expertise or maybe it’s just a better use of my time to delegate. When I then have to engage in a debate of whether my way is right or not, I’ve lost much, if not all, of the advantage of not doing it myself. If someone saves me from a real mistake, great! If they just want to “be right” then, not great.

Next time you’re doing something with, or for, someone and you feel there is another way to do it, stop and ask yourself if their way is wrong and you’re saving them from a mistake or if your way is just different and if, perhaps, you’re best to just be helpful and do what was asked.

After all, there is almost no better way to be of value to someone than to be helpful. One of my favorite questions is, “How can I help?” It’s very easy to chip away at that helpfulness and quickly cause a problem. Don’t cause a problem. Don’t have to be right. Do be helpful.

Thanks so much for reading. If interested, you can check out my companies Dialsmith and Lillian Labs, reach out on LinkedIn, or shoot me a message.

--

--