7 Things I Wish I Knew 10 Years Ago About Parenting

Adam Hillis
The Dad Vault
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

Author Created Image on Midjourney

If I could go back in time, these are the 7 things I wish I knew about parenting.

(It would have saved me a lot of wasted time and effort.)

1. You can’t have nice things

I was given an old, beat up, solid oak table in college. My roommate and I refinished it and it was BEAUTIFUL. They don’t make them like that anymore.

It became our family table when we got married.

All 3 of our kids have done serious damage to it…

2. One of your kids will probably be like you

If you have more than one child, most likely one of them will have a very similar personality to you.

You’ll notice the things you don’t like about yourself in them, and it will drive you crazy.

3. One of your kids will probably be like your spouse

If you have more than one child, most likely one of them will have a very similar personality to your spouse.

You’ll notice the things that bother you about your spouse in them, and it will drive you crazy.

4. You will be constantly repeating yourself

--

--

Adam Hillis
The Dad Vault

Crafting educational email courses for coach/creators || Coaching men to connect w/ their wife & kids, and themselves || I juggle marriage, kids, and words