The Dad Hammer Times, 6/29/2020

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJun 29, 2020

--

“Father, Dad, Papa, no matter what you call them they influence our lives and they are the person we look up to.” — Catherine Pulsifer

I have always looked up to my dad. Even with his pitfalls and failures, there have been so many good characteristics that I have looked up to him. He is generous, kind, and always ready to smile. He also is incredibly planned out for being so scatter-brained.

In the same way, I look up to my father, I know my daughters look up to me now. And will look up to me in the future too. This provides me with the accountability to be the father they need me to be and the father I want to be.

What about you?

This Week’s Stories

This week we had four stories submitted. They bring out the true nature of fatherhood and parenting as a whole. Be sure to stop by each one, read, clap, highlight, and comment!

What Will Your Kids Say About You at Your Funeral?

By: M.M. O'Keefe

If you’re in business, you probably know about the classic book Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. In Habit 2, author Stephen Covey says we should “begin with the end in mind.”

Teaching Your Kids (and Yourself) to Focus at Bedtime

By: Matt Hotze

Last week, for the five hundredth time, my kids took 15 minutes to brush their teeth. They just ignored me when I told them to do it. Things got ugly. Raised voices, threats, raised voices in return, not fun. What’s causing this, and how do I fix it?

Parenting is a Life Style I Was Never Prepared For

By: Ryan Bird

What is a dad supposed to do? I have been struggling to make a difference in the lives of those around me. I try to be the beacon of hope and happiness. I try to be the rock for those that need a solid foundation. Isn’t that what most dads do?

Kids Ugh.

By: Ryan Bird

Kids, ugh. That’s why I’m getting grey. That’s why I drink. That’s why I’m going bald. It’s why I can’t get anything done. Well, not really. I think, wait, I know that I’m going bald due to age. I don’t really drink. I’m going grey because well, I’m 40 and my dad did too. I don’t get as much done as I want because I spend so much time doing…. not those things.

Weekly Dad Jokes

What did the drummer call his twin daughters? Anna one, Anna two!

Weekly Prompt

For this week’s prompt, we want to go back in time. We want to hear one of two things:

  1. A particularly fond memory of your father.
  2. An important lesson in life your father gave you.

These are simple ones, but they might bring up some of the best stories we could see here on Medium in regards to parenting and fatherhood. We look forward to your submissions!

Connect with The Dad Hammer Pub

The Dad Hammer Pub is found in two places outside of Medium:

Jump on over and connect with on both so we can share stories as they come out, and grow our community!

Thank you for reading, and we will see you next week!

The Dad Hammer Pub

--

--

J.R. HEIMBIGNER
The Dad Vault

#1 Bestselling Author of 15 books on Amazon | Helping people go from writers to authors, let's chat: https://calendly.com/jrheimbigner/30min