Why We Went from Getting Dressy to Dressing Up.

Our Family Photo Tradition

Brandon Weldy
The Dad Vault
3 min readNov 26, 2018

--

“We are going to be the coolest kids on the internet.” My oldest son exclaimed this as we were getting ready to pack in the car and head for our yearly family photo.

We have been going to the same place for our family pictures since my oldest son was a baby. They offer a great deal which makes the hour and a half drive worth it.

A couple of years ago we changed up the tradition just a little bit. We stopped getting dressy and we started to dress up.

Let me show you an example.

Photo was taken at Portrait Innovations in Chesterfield, MO

For this picture, we dressed up as different regenerations of The Doctor from the TV show Doctor Who. The older boys were excited and told everyone in the studio what we were doing and who each of us was being.

I’ll admit it.

I was embarrassed.

I enjoy the show and was excited that my wife came up with this idea but I hate drawing attention to myself.

However, the kids had a blast and still talk about this picture. They will point it out to people who come over.

When we get dressed for church and they pick out their dress shoes they always refer to them as their Doctor Shoes. I tried correcting them at first but I have stopped.

The next time we took a family picture we dressed as members of the Justice League. I don’t care how the movies are doing, they will always be my preferred superhero team.

This weekend we were at it again and dressed up as characters from Star Wars.

My wife knew exactly what she was doing.

Some people may look at our family pictures and pity my wife. She has 4 sons and me to look after so naturally when a picture like this comes along people assume she was a casualty in this fight.

You’d be wrong.

Taking our family pictures this way was completely her idea. I enjoy the fandoms but as I mentioned I hate drawing attention to myself so I would have never even suggested we dress up in costumes.

She, on the other hand, saw the opportunity to make some great memories which our boys will continue to cherish.

I think with each time we do it I get a little less embarrassed. Seeing how much fun those boys are having definitely helps.

I know the whole scene is a bit ridiculous. A normal family walks into the changing area only to emerge as something larger than life. Innocent bystanders never know what will appear.

I must also admit I prefer what we wear compared to the matching Mickey Mouse pajamas I saw a family wearing yesterday.

Traditions bond a family together.

Many of our traditions are a bit silly. In fact, I’m sure that most of them are off the wall. But it gives us all something to look forward to doing together.

Plus, I know there may come a day where my boys are not going to want to dress up with mom and dad anymore. As we get ready, my oldest may not feel as “cool” as he did yesterday getting to dress up as Chewbacca.

At that point, the tradition may change slightly (then again it might not). It’s about finding those things you can do together with the people you love the most.

And if you all are enjoying it, then keep right on at it.

Here are the other two pictures I referenced in this post. Hope you enjoy!

Taken at Portrait Innovations in Chesterfield, MO
Taken at Portrait Innovations in Chesterfield, MO

--

--

Brandon Weldy
The Dad Vault

Father of Four. Husband to Jenny. Story Teller. Live the Adventure. http://weldywritings.com/