Can You See Us?

Zer0
Dark Matters
Published in
1 min readOct 29, 2022
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

I wish I could be religious
Like the monks burning in the street

Maybe then I could see the light

I wish I could be a dancer,
Gracefully moving in the air off their feet

Maybe then I would understand.

I wish I could be a singer,
Everyone listening to my last note

Maybe then I could sing this song God wrote.

I wish I could be a dreamer,
Drifting through Venetian streets.

Maybe then I could move as tranquil as a loch.

With subtle Venusian words caressing my ears
As my heart beats

Damp.

If I could just see you again I’d ask you,
Did you leave us crying, under that sickly veil?

I didn’t see you. But some nights still I hear you weep when you hang up the phone.

It’s soon. The day so close. You knew. I’m sorry.

Thanksgiving.

I miss your soul, perhaps that’s it.

I remember you.

The man said no one remembers you when you’re dead.

I remember you.

I wish you could meet them.

I showed you to them, they miss your soul too.

Can you see us?

Thanksgiving, what a day to die.

--

--

Zer0
Dark Matters

Writer of things unread, father of 3— amateur parent. Seasoned thinker and novice feeler of feelings.