I Built an Ethereum Mining Rig for Under $1,000

How to Mine Ethereum

Bitcoin Binge
The Dark Side

--

It’s 2020 and I just built my first Ethereum mining rig.

Really, it’s a GPU mining rig that can mine various cryptocurrencies, but I’m mining Ethereum while it’s still profitable.

I’ve never built a mining rig or computer before. To get this one up and running, it cost me $978 — just under $1,000.

In 2016, I bought some Ethereum.

I didn’t have much money at the time, but I’d been following Bitcoin since 2012 and was familiar with the crypto space.

Ethereum was the new crypto to watch. Having read Bitcoin Magazine, I knew about Vitalik Buterin and thought Ethereum showed promise.

When I bought my first Ether (at roughly $12/ETH), I already owned some Bitcoin. Not a lot, but enough to make tracking the price interesting. I still had student loan debt to pay off and was never one to be too risky with any spare cash.

My approach to Ethereum was the same. I put a few hundred dollars in and became fully engaged in the space.

Bitcoin had already hooked me, and now Ethereum was further reinforcing my desire to be part of the crypto community.

--

--