What not to do when Jumping Head first into Bitcoin

Check out our new platform 👉 https://thecapital.io/

Andrew Gardner
The Dark Side
3 min readDec 4, 2020

--

Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

I was first exposed to Bitcoin and Ethereum wasted in a bar. I had recently been divorced, and the woman I was seeing was totally taking advantage of the state of depression I was in. We had got to the part of the date where we were talking about jobs. I told her I was a teacher
and what I taught. She was like, “So you can teach economics right?” I said, “Yeah, but who wants to teach that? I did not think anything of it at the time, and we continued seeing each other. On one of our subsequent dates, she said the magic words.

“Hey, have you ever heard of Bitcoin?” I said no, and she gave me her pitch (it was wrong) about Bitcoin and how it was guaranteed to make me rich.
I was several pints in and totally not in the right frame of mind, but I was like, whatever, let’s give it a shot. I downloaded an exchange and made my first purchases, and went about my business. A few dates later, she introduced the concept of “mining” and proclaimed that I could get “free” Bitcoin and Ethereum. This is the part that got me in trouble. As soon as I heard that I could get “free” Bitcoin and Ethereum, I went crazy because naturally, when I saw the graphs and did the math, I thought, “Hell yeah, I’m going to be rich.” I thought I knew what mining was because I read a couple of how-to guides,
and then was like, I totally got this.

Naturally, since this woman was going to finally make me “stupid” rich, I continued to see her. This woman kept me pretty liquored up while I was pursuing the whole mining aspect of crypto. One morning after some serious partying, I logged into my bank account and realized it was overdrawn by like $3,000. I was so drunk the night before that I gave this woman access to my bank and credit accounts because I needed more Ethereum! I was way too hammered to make purchases. She totally did some shady shit under my name that I could not prove wasn’t me while pretending to help me actually place purchase orders for more Bitcoin and Ethereum. I got taken to the absolute cleaners. She totally cleared out all my accounts and dipped. There was nothing I could prove because it was all under my name, and she said, “Oh, you were just drunk.” “It was you who did all of this.” It was at that point I stopped anything and everything to do with crypto because I had been scammed and Bitcoin was a lie. I kept an app downloaded on my phone and would check prices here and there.

I finally thought I would try again, and I’m glad I did. It is actually very fun, and I am enjoying it. There is real potential in blockchain technology and implementation. Naturally, I am intrigued because of my background.

Here is my advice:

I do have to warn you. There are scammers everywhere. (Mostly online.) I just happened to get scammed in person. These people are vile and disgusting people who are trying to steal your money. They will prey on you, appeal to you, and totally make it seem like they are legit. If you see something on social media, someone pops up in your DMs, or anything else saying that they are an investor or some crazy shit like that, block them and move on. No one is going to come to you offering “services” if they are legit. IT IS A SCAM!

The crypto community is by the people, for the people. Everyone is welcome without discrimination, but it’s a scammers paradise.

Also, don’t drink and crypto! Have fun! :)

--

--

Andrew Gardner
The Dark Side

I talk about blockchain and crypto assets. Former history and political science teacher.