I got no more promises, Robert.

An adult female’s interpretation of Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

Hanan A.S.
The Doodeh Life
2 min readJan 11, 2023

--

Photo by Radu Andrei Razvan: https://www.pexels.com/photo/photography-of-trees-covered-with-snow-773594/

Many years back, an innocent tween girl sat in English Literature class and read Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost for the first time. It gave her all the feels;

Whose woods these are I think I know.

His house is in the village though;

He will not see me stopping here

To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer

To stop without a farmhouse near

Between the woods and frozen lake

The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake

To ask if there is some mistake.

The only other sound’s the sweep

Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep,

But I have promises to keep,

And miles to go before I sleep,

And miles to go before I sleep.

— Robert Frost, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

In the protective cocoon of a child’s innocence; it felt so empowering! A beautiful way to describe the importance of resilience and human strength and ability to fight the temptation of safety when they should get up, man up and fight! An important lesson for a growing child.

After what feels like multiple lifetimes later? woods are looking good, Robert.

--

--

Hanan A.S.
The Doodeh Life

What remains of a Human Female. Digital Product Designer. Bookworm.