Quote: Forgettable

Hanan A.S.
The Doodeh Life
Published in
1 min readMay 26, 2021

The face is not merely devoid of expression, it fails even to leave a memory. It has no individuality. I have only to shut my eyes after looking at it to forget the face. I can remember the wall of the room, the little heater, but all impression of the face of the principal figure in the room is blotted out; I am unable to recall a single thing about it.

— Osamu Dazai, No Longer Human

Do you think it a blessing or a curse to be so average people are unable to remember you seconds after leaving??

It sure is upsetting to feel like wallpaper in a room full of people actively interacting with each other, gives a feeling of being…lacking something?? I don’t know. But I do believe that it gives real freedom to be out of the limelight.

Invisibility beats popularity. Being average is freedom.

As long as I am doing anything to leave this world one part in a billion better than I found it, I don’t care if I leave it as miss What Was Her Name.

--

--

Hanan A.S.
The Doodeh Life

What remains of a Human Female. Digital Product Designer. Bookworm.