Cherishing Your Roots with Espy Muñoz

DriveTime
THE DRIVEWAY
Published in
4 min readSep 16, 2024

Hispanic Heritage Month unfolds, it presents the perfect opportunity to share stories straight from the source. Esperanza Muñoz, who goes by Espy, is an Internal Audit Manager at DriveTime and has been with the company for over a year now.

Rooted in Culture

Espy’s story begins in Tucson, Arizona, where she was born and raised. A proud graduate of the University of Arizona, Espy left with a degree in accounting. Her parents, pioneers in their own right, were the first in their families to immigrate to the United States. As a first generation American, Espy’s roots have profoundly shaped her identity and values.

One of the most significant ways she connects with her heritage is through music. Espy shares, “I love listening to music, and I spent most of my time listening to music in Spanish. It’s what I grew up with and because of that, it’s what I connect with the most.”

For Espy, music is not just a pastime; it’s a vital link to her roots and a means to preserve the Spanish language for future generations.

“I only get to practice my Spanish when I’m with my parents,” she said. “So, listening to music keeps me going and remembering that I want to pass down the language to my kids in the future.”

Delicious Traditions

Since Espy’s family was the first to immigrate, most of her family still lives in Mexico.

“Most of my family lives in Mexico, so all of my cousins are there,” she said. “It was definitely hard not having my cousins around.”

Despite being a country away from her extended family, Espy has stayed close with them thanks to a holiday tradition. Every December, she and her family make the trip to Mexico.

“We would go to Mexico every December and celebrate Christmas Eve,” she said. “We spend the whole evening dancing, singing, and just hanging out. As midnight approached, we would watch the little kids in the family hit a piñata full of candy and then open presents right after.”

The holiday season also features the tradition of making tamales. Espy loved participating in this process, “Just helping out wherever I can and watching my family get together to make tamales is so fun.”

Espy’s love for Mexican cuisine does not stop at tamales, thanks to her mother who happens to be an excellent cook. Her favorite dishes include chile relleno, a green chile pepper stuffed with cheese and fried with egg batter, and pozole, a hearty soup with hominy and meat (beef, chicken, or pork).

While she has tried to perfect these recipes herself, Espy admits that “My mom’s versions are always the best. I’ve also tried chile rellenos in multiple Mexican restaurants and they’re good, but somehow my mom has that special tomato sauce touch no one can beat.”

Navigating a New Culture

As a first-generation American, Espy faced unique challenges growing up, particularly in navigating a new culture.

“One of the challenges growing up was having to help my parents navigate a new culture,” she said. “My siblings and I would help translate documents as elementary school students that had no idea what those words meant, let alone how to translate them.”

These early experiences of overcoming obstacles and adapting to new environments have influenced Espy professionally. At the company, she leverages her skills as an Internal Audit Manager reviewing and improving operational and financial processes to mitigate risks and enhance efficiency.

“I help identify risks and evaluate whether there are controls in place to mitigate those risks, and then provide feedback where there are any control gaps,” she explained.

Her strong work ethic and commitment to integrity are values she attributes to her upbringing.

“My parents taught me the importance of working hard for what you want,” she said. “Not everything comes easy and sometimes you have to put in a little bit of extra effort.”

This was key for Espy when it came time to start applying for college. As a first-generation college student, Espy often had to navigate educational and administrative hurdles without much guidance from her parents who did not speak English.

“Going through things for the first time without our parents knowing the process was challenging,” she explained. “My siblings and I had to do our own research.”

Despite these obstacles, Espy’s experiences are living proof of the resilience and adaptability that are often characteristic of first-generation families. Her story highlights how heritage and personal experiences can shape professional paths and contribute to a diverse workplace.

“Celebrating different heritages like Hispanic Heritage Month helps bring more education and understanding of the diversity there is even within the Hispanic community,” she said. “It’s fun to learn about new cultures and backgrounds.”

Espy shares that at the DriveTime Family of Brands, the emphasis on diversity and inclusion allows employees to share their unique stories and connect with colleagues from various backgrounds. This approach, Espy notes, helps foster an environment where everyone feels acknowledged and appreciated.

“I think more than anything just cherish where you come from,” she said. “There’s nothing to be ashamed of. Growing up, I would be shy to even speak Spanish around people thinking they would judge me. Now, I cherish it and don’t carry around what other people think. Most people wish they knew a different language. I feel fortunate to be a part of such a diverse and vibrant community.”

--

--