The Dude Experience—Snowboarding.

Chapter 2.

Robert Busch
TheDudeExperience

--

yoga_dude/Instagram

I grew up in a town far away from the mountains. All we had was a little hill next to a playground. For a few days in winter, this little dune was covered in snow and we were more than excited to sled down this slope. All the kids were gathering and used anything they could find to slide down this little bump. Most of them would use plastic bags as if they were sleds. One day one of my friends came up with the idea to dismantle the wheels of his skateboard and give it a go. His first attempt epically failed. He fell down, hurt himself and the board went down the hill without him and hit another kid. Everyone was quite upset with him for that experiment. All the parents agreed, that we shouldn’t use our skateboards on that slope anymore.

When I told my parents about it my dad came up with an idea. He had a friend that helped him get one of the first snowboards with soft boot bindings on them. My dad bought the equipment from him and gave it to me. Without any instruction, I took the board and went back to the playground. Pretty quickly I figured that the bindings were not fitting my normal shoes. Besides that, I had no idea how “snowboarding” works. Still, I tried to ride down that mountain and shared the board with other kids. Nobody was really able to go down those few feet without falling, but it was still fun and we felt like real…

--

--

Robert Busch
TheDudeExperience

Studied Political Science in Frankfurt, Germany. Teaches Yoga since 2012. Author of 4 books. Played Live Music in Europe, North & South America, and Afrika.