The Fat Indian Girl (#1)

Surabhi Darji
The Fat Indian Girl
2 min readJun 3, 2017

What is Meera’s real weight?

Meera Patel is a fat Indian girl, her exact weight has been a mystery up until now because she refuses to step on a scale and disillusion herself about her body. Meera is twenty-five, she lives in Mumbai city and works at a tier-three chartered accountancy firm, which is basically one old Gujarati boss and five other employees including Meera. She hates her job and doesn’t understand most of her work but she is the only one in the firm who speaks English fluently, so they cannot afford to let her go.

It’s Saturday night, Meera is sitting at her favourite bar Ajanta with her best friend Rajeev Mahant, Rajeev is her partner in crime in almost any crazy thing she does or wants to do, they both are often found at this watering hole together, where they discuss everything from politics to who Pooja’s sleeping with.

I checked my weight today, it’s 70 kgs, can you believe it Raju, I didn't even realise when I crossed 65,” she tells Rajeev, looking extremely distressed.

Rajeev looks at her nonchalantly and says in his trademark fake American accent, “Chill brrro, you look fine”.

Nonchalant is an expression Rajeev practices at home, that and the heavy American accent that he probably picked up from hanging out at airports too much because nobody has heard of Rajeev going beyond even Bandra in his lifetime.

No, I am not looking fine Raju, I am short and fat, short and fat, how does that sound? I’ll tell you how it sounds, absolutely pathetic. Fuck man, do you ever listen to me. I am sick and tired of you. I am going home” says Meera, trying to look as angry as possible.

You say this every time we meet,” says Rajeev looking amused.

No, today I am actually going,” says Meera, extremely frustrated with Rajeev for not taking her threat seriously.

Fine pay the bill and go” jokes Rajeev.

You are fucking cheap,” says Meera, exasperated with him and everything else in her life.

If you like this post please give hearty applause and share.

To know what happens with Meera and her friends, follow The Fat Indian Girl.

--

--