Introducing G|Code’s Change Makers: Magdalena Abrego

G{Code}
The G{Code} House
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2020

In October 2020, the G|Code team launched the second cohort of Intro to G|Code, a 10 week program designed for young female and non binary folks of color to uncover interest and aptitude in tech within a supportive, inclusive, and safe environment. The Intro to G|Code Change Makers have shown us their grit, scrappiness, and creativity, as well as their commitment to community and personal growth. We are beyond proud of our Change Makers who will graduate in just a few days, and are thrilled to celebrate their achievements and share some of their stories.

Today, we celebrate Magdalena Abrego! Magdalena is from Somerville, MA and we have loved her curiosity and supportive presence. Read more about her journey below.

Why did you join G|Code?

I joined G|Code because web development is a skill set I knew I would need as entrepreneur. Plus, I knew that being surrounded by a community of like-minded creative thinkers would motivate me to stick to my goals. It felt, and continues to feel, like an incredible and unique opportunity to develop my tech skills, as well as my self confidence.

What is a favorite moment or memory from G|Code?

Rizel’s ESPN-esque narration of our weekly Kahoot quizzes was definitely a highlight. Her energy and sense of humor always set the mood for class and encouraged us to feel okay being silly, which, in the ultra-serious world of tech, felt super refreshing.

What have you learned about yourself or about coding? How has participating in G|Code impacted how you see yourself and/or your future?

For me, G|Code has illuminated the power of learning alongside others. I am thrilled to have met this group of individuals, all of whom inspire and motivate me to continue my tech journey beyond our final class. I feel genuinely thankful to have inherited this network that I can lean on and knowing that G|Code has my back moving forward fills me with the self confidence I need to keep learning and growing.

G|Code is a visionary non-profit striving to empower Boston’s young women of color by providing them with housing, technical training, leadership development, internship placements, and a resilient and compassionate community to learn from and grow alongside. Many thanks to Bridgette Wallace, Rizel Bobb-Semple, Bailey Siber, and the rest of the G|Code team and volunteers for making the Intro to G|Code program a success!

--

--

G{Code}
The G{Code} House

Empowering Boston’s young women and non binary people of color via technical training, intentional community, and stable housing. https://www.thegcodehouse.com/