Introducing G|Code’s Change Makers: Shantae Wilson

G{Code}
The G{Code} House
Published in
2 min readDec 13, 2020

In October 2020, the G|Code team launched the second cohort of Intro to G|Code, a 10 week program designed for young female and non binary folks of color to uncover interest and aptitude in tech within a supportive, inclusive, and safe environment. The Intro to G|Code Change Makers have shown us their grit, scrappiness, and creativity, as well as their commitment to community and personal growth. We are beyond proud of our Change Makers who will graduate in just a few days, and are thrilled to celebrate their achievements and share some of their stories.

Today, we celebrate Tae Wilson! Tae is from Boston, MA, and has blown us away with her dedication to learning and her willingness to support others. Learn more about her journey below.

Why did you join G|Code?

I was learning coding by myself and hit a wall. Nothing that I was learning was making sense and I was learning by myself so I didn’t feel like I could turn to many people that understood my frustrations. G|Code would allow me to be surrounded by folx that understood all the stress that comes with learning to code and could help me build a community.

What is a favorite moment or memory from G|Code?

When we started learning JavaScript. I had tried and failed to learn it so many times on my own and to have that a-ha moment where it finally made sense was really great

What have you learned about yourself or about coding? How has participating in G|Code impacted how you see yourself and/or your future?

I learned more about my learning style. I thought the best way to learn about coding was to take in as much information as I could and then practice. With GCode I learned that I should be learning a little and practicing to nail a solid foundation before moving on. The idea of transitioning to a new career was daunting but through the lessons, the extra workshops, and most importantly the great group of people I got to meet, I feel like being a software engineer is something I could actually do.

G|Code is a visionary non-profit striving to empower Boston’s young women of color by providing them with housing, technical training, leadership development, internship placements, and a resilient and compassionate community to learn from and grow alongside. Many thanks to Bridgette Wallace, Rizel Bobb-Semple, Bailey Siber, and the rest of the G|Code team and volunteers for making the Intro to G|Code program a success!

--

--

G{Code}
The G{Code} House

Empowering Boston’s young women and non binary people of color via technical training, intentional community, and stable housing. https://www.thegcodehouse.com/