Behind the Face of a Brand: Head of PR in Lisa Folawiyo, Dunsin Wright on Youth Culture

The Glory Network
The Glory Network
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2020

Behind the Face of the Brand explores the different ways young women implement their creativity into communicating a brand’s identity. We have Dunsin Wright, the Head of PR of luxury African Brand: Lisa Folawiyo, on how she infuses the unique Nigerian youth culture and playfulness into the brand.

What led you to work in PR?

I’ve had a life-long interest in fashion, and a desire to elevate emerging African brands. Eventually being able to push them into the global stratosphere.

I also love how different each day is. It’s a great feeling to know that I’ll be able to handle the branding and communications strategies on my future projects.

Why did you feel youth culture was an important aspect to bring into Lisa Folawiyo?

The youth are the tastemakers, and we really are the future, as cliché as it may sound. Outside of being a luxury clothing line, LF is an aspirational brand that’s always been about having fun.

The target customer was always intended to span across all ages, so naturally, we developed a strategy that was inclusive of a younger demographic.

What is your youth strategy?

Research, research, research. I always make sure we do a lot of research about different brands and the industry as a whole. I’ve also learnt a lot through conversations, meetings and social media insights.

It’s really important to remain attuned to the interests of your audience. Also being consistent with content, quality, and engagement. I can’t stress that enough. Being a young woman in Lagos myself, I consider what content I would engage with past the surface level.

How do you find inspiration for youth trends in Nigeria and internationally?

I follow a lot of cool brands and people, but I try not to only focus on social media or even fashion specifically. I watch movies, listen to music, and speak to my friends. Not for trends, but for inspiration.

I work with a brand which really is founded on individuality, so it’s important for me to not just hop on whatever is trendy but to connect with what each collection embodies and draw inspiration from that.

For example, the last collection drew on nostalgia — the reworking of the old to make new. So, I played on that a lot. From the mid-60s funk played on the runway to the afro-futuristic visuals we created throughout the year.

Who are some women that are currently on your collaboration wishlist?

I would say it’s generally more female photographers, directors and set designers, I just want to work with as many female creatives as possible.

--

--