Jewels of the Hudson: Constitution Marsh and Audubon Center and Sanctuary

Marie Atileh
The Groundhog
Published in
3 min readSep 12, 2017
A view of the marsh from a dock built by the sanctuary.

The air was cool on my hot, sweaty face as we reached the much-anticipated marshlands after an hour long trek. Constitution Marsh Audubon Center and Sanctuary. We had no idea what we were expecting as Google Maps led us off the main stretch of road onto a narrow dirt path.

The view of the rich mahogany barked trees through the windshield, along with the darkly hued leaves that covered its branches, built an anticipation in us that was understood but left unsaid. It was like being transported into a different time and place, and with a name like Constitution Trails an air of historicity permeated the roomy cabin of the compact Mazda my friend happened to be driving.

After finding a place to park the car (legally) the trail began like no other, easy at first with intermittent steep inclines to reach the top. However, the blue diamonds that began with us on our journey started taking us on a different path once we ascended its peak, a stony man-made path that twisted downwards towards an abyss we could not see with our own eyes. I led the pack, taking a deep breath and staring at my worn out Nike shoes stepping one foot in front of the other.

A gasp was let out behind me followed by a short thud. I turned around and saw my friend succumb to the twisted stony path, landing on a jagged rock and clutching her bottom for dear life. “My butt… it hurts…” she groaned. My other friend and I crouched down beside her as we waited for her to heal. It’s amazing how during moments of rest you begin to realize just how hard you’re actually sweating. When she finally came to we continued to trudge along, each of us having our eyeballs glued to the movement of our feet so as to keep from meeting a similar fate.

After thirty or so minutes of this the scenery began to transition from a dark and demanding forest to a clear landscape with a wooden bridge leading out into the marshes. I didn’t even realize I was smiling until someone pointed it out to me. As we stepped onto the wooden bridge the tall grass that accompanied its path began to sway from side to side, almost as if it were waving hello. I felt the sweat at the crown of my head drip down to the bottom of my chin, but I couldn’t care less. Making our way to the dock, the landscape that unfolded before us was as beautiful and picturesque as a Hallmark postcard.

As soon as we made it to the dock I plumped down like I haven’t sat in years and hastily took off my shoes and my socks. Before anyone could say anything I dipped my feet into the muddy waters of the marsh, and watched as soft brown muck swept across my feet. I looked up into the sky and closed my eyes, feeling the sun on my face. “Twas a glorious Labor Day” my friend said behind me. “Aye,” I said. “Twas a glorious Labor Day indeed.”

--

--