The Woman Who Can Do It All

Anisa.Williams1
The Groundhog
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2022

Lynette DeBellis is a wife, a mother, a grandmother, a sister, an aunt, a teacher, and a nurse. She is a Nursing Instructor and Chair of the School of Nursing at Mount Saint Mary’s College. After receiving a Presidential Scholarship to Mount Saint Mary College, Lynette began her nursing studies and minored in Hispanic studies. Upon graduation, she was awarded the clinical excellence award and began working at a level one trauma hospital. While there, she cared for many different types of patients including medical- surgical, orthopedics, oncology and cardiac patients.

photo courtesy of Mount Saint Mary’s College

“I always wanted to be a teacher, I believe that teaching gives me the best of both worlds- being able to teach the next generation of nurses and still care for patients at the bedside,” said DeBellis.

Lynette went on to earn her master’s degree in Nursing Education at Teachers College-Columbia University. Still affiliated with the trauma hospital, she began teaching at Westchester Community College eventually becoming the Chair of the Nursing Department. Lynette has a passion for nursing both personally and professionally.

“When I was working full time as a bed-side hospital nurse, I worked primarily at a large tertiary care center. I met my husband on an elevator at 2:00am at that hospital when he was a new physician and I was a new graduate nurse” said DeBellis.

She taught at Westchester Community College for 25 years and upon retirement, Lynette was offered a position at her undergraduate alma mater. “I did not feel “retired” and my husband and family would agree. I was in a position to give back and hopefully teach the next generation of nurses closer to home!” said DeBellis.

In Lynette’s downtime she loves spending time with her family and watching her favorite baseball team, the New York Mets. Lynette said, “Personally, I am most proud of my children and all that they have accomplished as adults. Professionally, I am most proud that I finally completed my Doctorate in Nursing Education.”

Lynette works in the classroom and at the hospital. A typical day on campus for Lynette consists of teaching two classes of junior nursing students and attending meetings in the morning and afternoon. She also teaches an evening course in Mount Saint Mary’s accelerated/non-traditional program, ending her night at home answering emails. “When I am in the hospital for clinical instruction, I am able to still care for patients,” said DeBellis.

Most recently, under Lynette’s guidance, 50 dedicated students administered some of the first COVID-19 vaccines to nurses and doctors at four area hospitals like Vassar Brothers Medical Center, Northern Dutchess Hospital, Putnam Hospital, and Montefiore St. Luke’s Cornwall.

Lynette said “I believe it is important for those individuals contemplating a career in nursing to understand that nursing is a profession which combines art and science. It has been said that science explains the work of a nurse, while art addresses the human connections with empathy, caring and compassion.”

--

--