Vignettes of Poughkeepsie: College Hill Golf Course, Twilight Golf

Nicholas Rudzewick
The Groundhog
Published in
2 min readSep 9, 2017

Its quiet at the first tee box as I look at my target off into the distance. Only moments ago my three friends and I were running chaotically through our house trying to gather our things and sneak in a round of golf before sunset. We were let out of class at 6:15, and by 6:30 we were at the nearest golf course. The course starter had already called it a day, enjoying a cold beer while ringing us up. “You boys are the last ones out, enjoy, hit em straight, but get back here before sun down.” We happily promised to be back in time.

As I looked down at my ball I took a quick moment to take a deep breathe and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. The course was misty. You could tell the sprinklers had just run on the hole. The sun was starting to set, painting an orangish color across the sky. I started my backswing and drove the ball, slicing right, and into the rough. Golf doesn’t care how peaceful you feel.

As we scurried along the course we saw few others as the indigenous critters and cicadas made more noise than our fellow golfers. However, as we made the turn on hole 3 we were met with a bit of a surprise. Ten local kids had snuck onto the course and decided to follow our group. The kids really just wanted a ride on our golf carts, but to us the crowd made us feel like we were professionals with a gallery surrounding an event. Like most kids, they got bored and ditched us on hole 5, not without trying to steal our golf cart of course.

As we made the turn on our final hole the sun was well below the trees. We knew we had to play it quick in order to not get kicked off early. Luckily the final hole was a par 3 and we were on the green in due time. The course was now completely empty, but the peaceful quiet was overtaken by the sound from the cicadas.

The starter was the only person left at the club house, watching us with a displeased face and folded arms. He was easy to spot in his bright orange quarter zip. My friends and I finished our putts and shook hands, congratulating each other on a good round of golf. The starter shouted from the clubhouse, “Go on and get out of here, I’m ready to go home.” As we made our way back to the parking lot we noticed there were only two cars left, ours and the starter’s white Lincoln, already running, ready to go.

Anytime you head to College Hill at night you know you are in for something fun. Sometimes the workers are already on recreation time, sometimes a gallery decides to follow the premier golfs and other times you can enjoy a nice peaceful round of golf.

--

--

Nicholas Rudzewick
The Groundhog
0 Followers
Writer for

I read, I write and I sing in the shower............. Marist College 18'