Vignettes of Poughkeepsie: Eveready Diner, Saturday, September 2, 7:50 p.m.

Kelsi Kobata
The Groundhog
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2017

A burger, fries and milkshake with a side of local gossip, please?

Photo: Kelsi Kobata; Exterior of Eveready Diner

I pull into an end stall in the nearly full parking lot of Eveready Diner on a Saturday night and make my way to the entrance. A group of Marist students who came from the annual “Jock Jam” party stumble out of the restaurant in their sports jerseys.

Inside is a lively scene of echoing chatter and clattering dishes with families, couples and solo diners scattered throughout the space. My friends and I are seated toward the back near the kitchen and bar — a perfect spot to eavesdrop on the waitstaff’s conversations. As I contemplate the menu I overhear a waitress gossip about her latest relationship with someone she met on Tinder. I decide on the soup of the day: creamy tomato.

A group of Vassar students sporting sweatshirts that read “VASSAR” in bold print and baggy sweatpants file in and join the scene. The food arrived, but I was too distracted by the bustling activity around me to eat. My soup became cold, but the energy was heating up.

I glimpse over at the Florida State vs. Alabama game on tv, then scan the room to see what the other customers are eating. A bowl of whipped cream and a plate stacked with a heaping sandwich is served to the table behind us. My eyes wander over to the Marilyn Monroe bust sitting high atop a shelf near the exit.

Sitting on a shelf next to the napkin inventory is an incredibly realistic bust of Marilyn Monroe

I watched an employee on his break smear butter across thick pieces of french toast with an entire plate of house potatoes. At the other end of the diner in the booths were three couples. The two older couples were slowly packing up their leftovers as the third pair reached across the table to hold each other’s hands.

Romance, drama, reunions, family dinners and simple relaxation all coexisted here. I left feeling satisfied and drove away into the dark leaving behind the fading glow of Eveready.

A shameless milkshake for dinner from the famous Eveready Diner.

--

--