Meghan Hise
thegrowl
Published in
5 min readSep 30, 2016

--

Motivate Players

In soccer if you love the sport you do then do it. Honestly from my experience I felt like I wasn’t helping the team and I felt unwanted. But I didn’t give up. I kept pushing through and finish basketball season up. Probably almost everyday I came home upset and was angry. I got benched half of my playing time also I wasn’t happy. Like who wants to be benched. Also I recognized that my happiness mattered. The best feeling to know you are wanted and you have fun with the team.

Training and practicing almost everyday or at least doing practice for at least half an hour is still good. It is important to eat during the day and stay hydrated with water and also my sophomore year I didn’t have time to eat and also I barely had anything to eat that day and it was a game day. I drank lots of water but my friend helped me and gave me some food to eat because I was playing the game also it was a bad idea to not eat that day.. In the article of “Motivation and soccer cont” they say “Teams in the lower half can lose confidence and develop a negative attitude or a fear of losing. This fear must be removed by the coach by persuading players that if they keep doing what they are good at, things will come right. Concentrating on the simple things and not the results whilst giving precise instructions to individuals about their job will help along with much praise and encouragement.”

As my opinion I think to get better at soccer is be energetic be positive and if someone accidentally misses the ball do not feel bad because everyone messes up and makes mistakes. It is okay to learn from your mistakes. Also just keep your head up you will be alright. In the article it says that “Teams in the lower half can lose confidence and develop a negative attitude or a fear of losing. This fear must be removed by the coach by persuading players that if they keep doing what they are good at, things will come right.” Also we are a team and a team or team mate should pick you up when you are down and do the best to keep you satisfied and be positive and honestly there will be negativity in your life and yeah sometimes the truth hurts but all you gotta do is to get better than ever and to overcome that and be a beast. No matter what do your best and you will get better. Just say positive things and that will get lots of others courage up and not lose it like I did before in the days I would think I wasn’t important or that I messed up. Losing courage is like losing the sport you love doing. Another thing as well, you will get hurt it’s like a battle out there you gotta be aggressive and get over getting cleated and shoved you gotta take that hit and keep going that makes you stronger as well. In the article they say that “Every player has a dream in soccer and some players pursue their dreams and expect to achieve them through renewed hard work and dedication Obstacles are seen as a challenge and each setback as a call for more effort to improve and overcome these problems.”

The big thing before a game or scrimmage you should have a team pep talk watch the soccer videos of your team or as well watch some on about FIFA’s videos of plays or so to see what moves you could get better and try to fix the mistakes. Have a speech about motivation. Telling the team you got this and be aggressive. Pep talks are always a good vibe to bring to the team and all that positive feedback. How to get ready for the game? For example, you could watch videos or listen to it on youtube or talk to anyone about it. What I do to get ready for a game, I listen to music and to motivational speeches sometimes.My fear is that I do not want to lose courage and that does affect yourself as a player.

It is the big game just do your best be the beast. Just be happy what you do and embrace the chance you have to become better and someday in the future you could be a professional. Keep yourself motivated to keep your courage up and positivity. Do what is best for you or as a team/ team mates.

Being in a sport with a team is important because without you there’s no team. Teams are wonderful to be in and the experience making new friends and building your friendship more and being happy. Everyone deserves a chance. Being accepted by teams and coaches are the best feeling to know you are wanted on a team. To push forward in life and count on your team with you. The team may have your back when you may be in the worst mood and break down and get upset. They won’t give up on you at all. Also this person said “Bill Besick (sports psychologist for Manchester Utd) states that the strongest motivation must be because the player wants to win and in a team sport the motivation must be because the players want to win together.”

Life is like a game of soccer. You need goals.

If there are no goals in your life then you can’t win.”

Unknown Author

Enjoy the little things in life because you never know when you have to choose the sport you love playing. Life without something you love doing is like wasting your time and effort out the window. It flew by like it was nothing, like I was nothing. You need goals in life to do and accomplish it because it is your dream or to get better to be the one to be the beast. Even if you are out of breath and your stomach hurts just keep going. Do not stop unless you have asthma. Push yourself forward to get better and get in shape. Think of this, do you want to be better and be a better athlete you were before or give up and just not get better?

Well do what makes you happy.

--

--