Rajmahizhan T
The Guest
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2018

--

My first experience with a Cancer patient

As a pharmacy student, patient counselling is one of the important learning. All through my life, I lived on the other side of the equation, where Doctor talk about disease and pharmacist explain medication practice. I had an imagination about the patient experience through entertainment media and from my seniors. our classroom received a schedule for a hospital visit. On the scheduled day, different start I had in the morning. Got up late from the bed and it affected my regular activities and the time I suppose to reach the hospital.

And finally, I rushed to the hospital where our college faculty made proper arrangement for us and for me they allotted general ward counselling. I went through case sheets of patients and the medication details. In the evening, my batchmates are started discussing the experience they had on a particular day. One of my friends started to talk about the cancer patients he experienced on the day. The boy is 14 years old and the case sheets say he was admitted for a normal headache but continues pain made doctor suggest for a complete scan and it revealed a small tumour occurs in his brain. To bring down the pain, it seems Doctors operated near the squamous suture to take the cerebrospinal fluid which produces an intolerable pain. And another test based on CSF conclude that he was affected by brain cancer after seeing this case sheet we want to give some positive wave to the patients because that the only we can do at the stage but we are new to that situation and we struggle to approach the patients so at last, we decide to get back from the rooms that more are that one hour we understand pain cancer patients going through and looked further about reason for cancer. It is different from another disease, it is not because of the virus, but abnormal growth in a particular part of the organ and similar growth helped as grow from child to Adult

Later we approached patient with a positive mindset and made him think out of cancer pain. Learning I had is to approach things positively and strong mindset can help to pass through a tough situation. Science says positive or negative emotions affect different glands and in turn DNA pattern, change might help to come out of cancer.

--

--