“Our Network Defines Us”

Guest Post by GUILD Member Annie Kaiser

The GUILD
On the table
4 min readDec 2, 2016

--

Annie Kaiser is a global account manager at Cisco, a fitness entrepreneur, and #warriorbaby. She’s climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro, and completed Ironmans and ultramarathons. Her fitness brand, Warrior Baby, creates clothing and accessories for athletes and innovators. Annie is an advocate for getting more women into startups and politics. She studied economics at Lawrence University, and previously teamed up to form an IoT startup for Stanford University’s Venture Lab. Look for her online @kaiserannie.

This week, Annie shares her story of the transformative strength that comes from growing a network.

Flying Solo

The day I interviewed for my first real job, I did it without any support. I walked into an office and faced a group of six middle-aged men ready to grill me. They didn’t really know me, but I was relying on them to give me a chance. It was a test: my task was to close the meeting on a mock sales scenario.

Out of 50 people who faced the same challenge that day, forty people were shut down. I was one of the ten who got the job.

I am proud that I could win them over on the strength of my work ethic and confidence, but there’s no doubt that the process would have been much smoother if I’d had a better network. I would have known what to expect from the interview process (including some background on my interviewers, and a few pointers on how to differentiate myself from the other candidates). I’d have had a better understanding of the inner-workings of the industry, and, like many of my peers, I would have had a “foot in the door.”

The Built-in Network that Comes with Your Job

When I joined Cisco, I gained an instant appreciation for the value of the network.

Between informational meetings, social dinners, and company soccer games, I connected with executives and peer groups alike. While I initially expected these people to be too busy to share their time, I was surprised by their willingness to reflect on their career paths and provide insights that would inform my own choices.

This network was not superficial. My new support system included friends and mentors around the world with whom I connected beyond the office on everything from comparing investment strategies to exchanging dating stories.

In my third year at the company, one of my connections helped me take a huge career leap. He was a co-worker, friend, and former company-team soccer teammate who had recently moved to a job in the firm’s San Francisco office.

I was also looking to move to the Bay Area, and was interviewing for a position there. During a conversation with my co-worker, I was able to ask the kinds of questions I didn’t (or couldn’t) ask in my first job interviews. He did far better than answer. He did something unexpected: he suggested another position in the area that was about to open up, that could be a better fit.

The Post-Network Interview

After some research, I discovered that he was right. So when the time came to interview for my second job, I wasn’t flying solo. In fact, I wouldn’t have even known about the job without a supportive network. Before going in, I was plugged in. I understood key information about the role and why I was qualified, and what’s more, the manager knew my background before the interview process started.

Annie’s Warrior Baby Stealth 1.0 water bottle was one of the goodies featured in the VIP bags at the GUILD’s recent launch event in San Francisco.

I’m happy to report that I’ve steadily moved up through the ranks at the company, and even managed to launch a growing business on the side.

Time has taught me that our networks reflect our willingness to learn, grow and expand.

I recently attended a ladies’ event where I learned about the GUILD, a new networking tool to help me build my network. As I look ahead to my next opportunity, I’m excited to build the connections that the GUILD initiates.

I feel it’s our responsibility, in our companies and communities, to seek personal development and to help others do the same. Curiosity and a positive attitude are the only prerequisites. We’re intensely social creatures. Our network defines us, and contributes to rich experiences throughout our lives. In this spirit, only we determine the size and scope of our networks and how much we decide to accomplish.

The GUILD offers one-to-one networking that skips the awkwardness, by facilitating introductions to like-minded women. For more information, sign up now.

--

--

The GUILD
On the table

A face-to-face networking platform for women. We make the introduction so you can focus on building the connection. #getguilded at www.letsguild.com