Lean Back: The Whys of Networking

Anne Cocquyt
On the table
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2016

I’d like to take you on a vacation of the mind. Don’t worry: you won’t even need to get out of your office chair or up off the couch. Close your eyes for a moment and imagine yourself in a hammock on a deserted tropical beach. You can hear the soothing sounds of the surf in the background, as the warm breeze brushes your skin and gently rocks your hammock. Can you feel it? Close your eyes, breathe in … three, two, one…

Apart from taking a brief break in your busy day, I’d like to invite you to tap into this feeling of comfort, and trust in the security of your hammock.

Can you guess where I’m going with this?

Networks are like hammocks.

They hold us. We put our trust in them. Every knot is important, and the more knots that you tie, the more supportive and relaxing the experience.

As a connector and networking nerd, I’ve been asked many times why and how to network. In my last post, I shared some tips on how to take the awkwardness out of networking at events, and now I’d like to talk about why building your network is far more important for both your career and personal life than you might think.

Consider the following:

People hire and promote people they know, like and trust.

The people with whom you surround yourself influence who you are and what you do, in powerful ways that we don’t always see directly.

Some of our strongest friendships trace their origins to networking.

People will go out of their way to help their friends, which also means helping friends of friends.

I’m sure you’ve heard these truths before, but do you really trust in them? It can be the difference between spinning your wheels in often fruitless pursuits, such as writing and blasting off cold-call emails, obsessing over your resume, or sinking into doubtfulness. With trust, you realize that what you really need is to get out there and build real relationships.

Earlier this year, I experienced this first-hand while struggling with a tough decision. After putting a lot of energy, sweat and tears into a corporate role that on the surface looked like everything one could wish for, I chose to leave my job and dedicate myself to my passion. I lacked funding for my startup idea at the time, and only later learned that my co-founder couldn’t commit.

So in a way, I found myself on a deserted island. No paycheck. No benefits. No cupcakes in the lunchroom. Just a big idea and … a hammock.

A very strong network of amazing people were there to support me. They were there to guide me with market research, they connected me with the world’s best talent, they helped me pitch my idea to investors. When I called them, they called me back, and we shared quite a few glasses of champagne celebrating our achievements.

I had built this network over years and had paid it forward to many of my contacts, and in return, many of them paid it forward to me.

A network is like a family that watches out for you. Sometimes you’re the one giving, sometimes you’re on the receiving end. It’s a balance that takes time, trust, and many face-to-face meetings.

In our world where technology often consumes us, even while providing instant connection, old-fashioned face-to-face networking can seem antiquated. It’s a time-consuming process with an uncertain outcome.

So let’s close our eyes again and return to the hammock for a moment. Remember that feeling of the closely knitted net providing safety and comfort. Now imagine having the same feeling the next time you want to change jobs, need help with a proposal, or simply want to share news of your promotion with someone who understands you.

If you invest in the connections you make, if you put time into tying those knots, you will benefit from the advice you give and get. Your confidence will increase dramatically, and you will share your stories with people who want to celebrate with you.

Without networking, I wouldn’t be here today. I wouldn’t have founded the GUILD, a networking service that helps women meet like-minded peers, and I certainly wouldn’t have found the support to write this series of Founder’s Desk posts.

I’d like to hear your examples of how networking has proven valuable in your careers and personal life. Please, share your stories so we can lean back and enjoy them with you.

And remember, your network will have your back the next time you take that courageous step.

--

--