A Look Into Student Style

By Josh Skabelund

Joshua Skabelund
The Herald
3 min readMar 3, 2022

--

What is your name?

Hello, my name is Rylie Greenwood!

Where are you from?

I am from Draper, Utah.

What are a few things about you that people should know? (do you play sports? Hobbies, Music etc?)

I am on the swim team here at SVU and have really enjoyed it. I also like to cook and shop!

Do you take time to pick out what you’re going to wear before each day?

Yes, I will usually plan out my outfit the night before. I enjoy putting thought into what I wear.

Dress up or dress down? (suit and tie or sweats and slides kinda deal, explain).

I tend to dress up more than dressing down because I like getting ready, it helps me get through the day. By dress up, I mean an actual outfit. I don’t usually wear super dressy things but I also don’t like going out in sweats and a sweatshirt.

If you could pick one outfit out of your closet to wear for the rest of your life what would it be? (break it down)

If I had to pick one outfit to wear for the rest of my life, I would choose a pair of thrifted light washed jeans and a black long sleeve turtleneck with a tee shirt or sweatshirt over it. I really enjoy adding fun colored shoes to my outfit to really complete it. For this outfit, I would probably wear Jordan 1s.

Favorite ways of finding new pieces to add to your wardrobe?(do you thrift buy online?)

I really enjoy thrifting to find new pieces to add to my wardrobe. I also like going to less popular stores and small businesses for my outfits.

Who do you find inspiration from in pop culture? Do you style your fits after anyone in particular?

I find inspiration from YouTube influencer Emma Chamberlin. I like the way she thinks when it comes to style and fashion. I enjoy looking through her Instagram and YouTube channel to find new inspiration for my outfits. I also enjoy looking through Pinterest to find new ways to style some of the pieces I have in my closet.

If I looked in your wardrobe what brands/eras would I find and see?

I have a big assortment of brands in my wardrobe. I like having a wide variety of options in my closet, and I like finding new ways to wear the things I have. I also like having statement pieces in my wardrobe because I think those pieces can completely make or break an outfit.

Vintage or modern? Why?

I have a mixture of both vintage and modern clothes in my closet. I really like thrifting. When I thrift, I make sure that I will wear the things I buy. I also make sure to buy things that I don’t already have to avoid re-wearing the clothes I already own. This is a little bit easier to do with modern clothes. I have found that a lot of the clothes I have are newer and more modern.

What is your favorite piece of clothing in your wardrobe?

I think my favorite piece of clothing in my wardrobe is a pair of brown Carhartt overalls because I can wear a number of things underneath them to create different outfits.

Any tips to someone who wants to dress better?

I think that style is very subjective to the person. I find that layering can help any outfit whether it be with undershirts or jewelry. My advice is buy pieces you like and create an out of the box outfit. You should wear something because you like it, don’t worry about what others will think.

Who has the best style on campus?

I think Lizzy Rose has a good style because she takes basic pieces and adds statement pieces to create a fun and stylish outfit.

Anything else you want to share?

I like wearing things that no one else is wearing. I think finding clothes that you like and finding fun ways to wear them is what makes everyone’s style unique. Style is a great way to express yourself. I would encourage everyone to wear what they want to, regardless of other people’s opinions!

Instagram: Rylie_Greenwood

VSCO: ryliegreenwood

--

--