Bachelor of the Week: Filimone Manu

By Matthew Rosson

Matthew Rosson
The Herald
3 min readSep 23, 2022

--

Filimone Manu the true legend that Southern Virginia is barley ready for.

Ladies, we’re back like we never left to bring you another bachelor. The one, the only, Filimone (Ami) Manu. Our man, Ami, is a second semester freshman and part of the Knight’s Rugby team. Ladies, he’s number 15 on the field but, let’s be honest, he’s about to be number one in your heart.

Ami and I met his first semester when he arrived for rugby. My first impressions were wow this guy can play. But, after spending time with him, I can say he’s a pretty great guy too. If you’re looking for someone smart, athletic, and with some of the best pre-practice dance moves you’ve ever seen, this is your man.

For our interview, I asked some burning questions so you can understand that this eligible bachelor is the man for you!

Where are you from?

“I’m from Hamilton, New Zealand”

Why are you here at Southern Virginia University?

“I came out to Virginia to play rugby and came across this school. So, I decided to come to Southern Virginia for the education and for a better future for myself. I also wanted to help others around me.”

Do you have a major? If so, what is it?

“Business.”

What’s the best part about Southern Virginia University?

“The people are chill. And, I’m from both the city and rural parts of New Zealand so I like that’s it’s a farm vibe out here.”

How tall are you?

“5’9.”

What is your favorite food?

“Anything and everything, I’m not picky about food.”

What do you look for in someone you date?

“I want them to have several traits; honesty, family orientated, someone who can take jokes (and give jokes), loves food like I do, and someone who can match my energy in everything.”

What is your favorite movie?

“The Notebook.”

Who’s your best mate and is he single too?

“Netane Tupou and yes, he’s singlee: we’re ready for double dates.”

Do you prefer going out or staying in?

“Both. I’m a home body, but I travel a lot.”

Tell us about your culture and what it means to you!

“I’m American Samoan, Tongan, and Fijian. I take pride in all three of my cultures. I love the food and also how much respect we hold for everyone around us; we have so much love for our families.”

What do you do in your free time?

“Sleep, eat, and whatever there is to do at home or around B.V..”

Describe yourself in 3 words

“Goofy, fun to be around, and a whole ahhhh vibe.”

Here he is, Southern Virginia University. Ami is what you need, so come snatch him up. As you can see, our guy Ami is fun to be around and has a sweet sensitive side. I mean, his favorite movie is The Notebook (if that’s not a good sign, I don’t know what is). If you’re single, and looking for someone to carve pumpkins with, look no further. He’s an athlete, a family man, and an all around good guy. So, come and get him girls before someone else makes signs for him at rugby games.

If you or someone you know wants to be the next Herald Bachelor/Bachelorette, email us at theherald@svu.edu for a chance to be interviewed.

--

--