Best Tasting Frozen Meals for College Students

By Jon Stauffer

Jon Stauffer
The Herald
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Note that these food options are based strictly off of how they taste, not what is the healthiest option.

Over the course of a 7 day period, I went out and tried a few top rated frozen meals from Walmart.

1st up is Healthy Choice Cafe Steamers Beef Teriyaki.

This frozen meal is $2.77. This meal has an overall rating of 4 out of 5 stars from 412 reviews on “Walmart.com.” For being less than 3 dollars, the price is amazing, however, it is pretty small. Being a male athlete, it would take about 7 or 8 of these to fill me up and to be considered a full meal for myself. I would mostly recommend this as a side dish for a meal, unless you buy a bunch of them and throw them all in one big bowl.

2nd is the Life Cuisine Chicken Mozzarella Sandwich, 6oz (frozen).

This dish is $4.18. It has an overall rating of 4.6 out of 5 stars with 161 reviews. Similar to the beef teriyaki meal, it is on the smaller size, but it is a larger food portion. While eating this, I got a slight hint of a pizza type of taste, but the flatbread is what makes it unique from a slice of pizza. In order for this to fill me up, I would need to eat about 4 of them.

3rd- Birds Eye: Alfredo Chicken Skillet Frozen Meal

The last dish I’ll be reviewing is a type of Chicken Alfredo. This meal is a bit larger in size, as I think that 1 and a half of these packages would fill me up. It has a 3.4 out of 5 stars review on “Walmart.com” with a total of 247 reviews. After eating about half of this, I thought that it was kind of bland so I added more salt and pepper and it was a lot better. It definitely isn’t as good as an Italian restaurant alfredo, but it is pretty decent considering that it is a frozen meal from Walmart.

What are your favorite frozen meals? Let us know!

--

--