Carter Gorham: Acceleration - Student Life under 18

Told from the perspective of a once “under-age” student

Carter Gorham
The Herald
5 min readMay 3, 2018

--

Miranda Anderson. Carter Gorham/The Herald

Picture yourself at sixteen. Now place that person in college. This is life for a surprising number of students at Southern Virginia University.

Students across the country are graduating and attending college as minors, and the Southern Virginia student body is no stranger to such individuals. The apparent surge in homeschooling’s popularity as well as dual enrollment programs is likely to produce an ever-increasing number of such non-traditional students.

I approached Miranda Anderson, 16, concerning her experience pursuing an accelerated education. “When I was in public school, in 7th grade, I was bored,” narrated the freshman. “I was acing my tests, so my parents wanted to pull me out. I took a few tests through my state, and I skipped 8th grade. Then I signed up with a couple of online programs and was able to finish my high school diploma in 3 years, with my parents’ help.”

Despite the emphasis being put here on early university attendance, however, not all who graduate early come to college early. I know a few individuals who did so and proceeded to use their extra years to work, save up money, or travel. I asked my interviewees if they felt content with their decision to press forward, without halt, in their education. Miranda, for one, seemed very confident that hers was the best path she could currently pursue.

“I knew that, if I took a year off, it would be harder to be motivated to go to school,” The young Forensic Psychology major told me, “And I enjoyed working and saving up money, but it sort of helped remind me that I needed to get a better education, so that I could actually pursue a specific career.”

This is not to assert that there are no drawbacks to immersing oneself in higher education at a younger age. “I think I probably would have gotten a job and would have been more self-reliant from the beginning,” admitted Gabriella Saxton, 17, upon being asked if she thought taking a year off from school would have made life significantly different.

During my first semester here, during which time I was 17 years-old, I felt an almost overwhelming pressure as one who had come so far at an accelerated pace. I wondered, while researching for this article, if others in my proverbial boat had similar feelings of intense expectation.

Miranda seemed to understand such an excessive pressure, though not just as an advanced placement student. “I’ve always felt this drive to do my absolute best, and I think, sometimes, I obsess over the letter grade,” she said. “I think that, sometimes, I do push myself really hard, like, ‘I have to do well; I’m sixteen and in college,’ but I just have to remind myself that I’m human, that I do make mistakes.”

Gavin Dransfield, 17, felt differently. “I’ve never really made competition in my education, in that aspect,” Gavin asserted. “The way I see it, I’m here to learn and to make friends and to just do the best I can in those areas.”

From Gavin, in particular, I got a vibe one receives from many early graduates: a sense of disaffection from the high school ecosystem. “I made the final decision to [graduate early], when I was in middle school. Both middle and high school were bad environments. All the people and teachers were extremely disrespectful.” This is what motivated him to work towards graduation at the tender age of 16. He continued, “Since I began here, I felt incredibly included. I wasn’t necessarily an outcast in high school, but I wasn’t that popular. The teachers didn’t really care. Here, I feel like I’m testing my limits and reaching higher.”

The general consensus among the student body, accelerated placement or no, acclaims the accepting atmosphere at Southern Virginia University. In my experience, along with that of others in my circumstance, the majority of people here when learning of my age would simply say “That’s cool,” and proceed to treat me just as they would if I was 21. Some of the first students to take conversation with me, upon my arrival, were seniors.

Part of this corresponds with the general dissolution of age borders that occurs in the transition from grade school to college; most who pursue higher education have determination and scholarly values, giving them more common ground between one another than can be found in high school.

I believe, however, that Southern Virginia adds something to the mix, because of the diversity in the ages of entering freshmen. Our school has a notable balance of teenagers, returned-missionaries, and seasoned adults looking to advance their professional options. In short, students here don’t think twice when somebody is significantly younger.

Something commonly brought up by critics of early college entry, is the assertion that children are not usually equipped for the responsibilities of being thrust into adult life. (This does not apply as heavily to Gavin, who still lives with his family and admitted that he was “not getting the full college life.”) This is true, to an extent. Adult life is difficult. But I have met several others who are almost completely managing day-to-day life, despite being children in the eyes of the law.

As far as I can tell, it only makes them stronger as humans and even better prepares them for life’s trials ahead.

I do not wish to claim that everyone who is able to do so should follow the same path of accelerated official erudition as these indefatigable young students. As Miranda articulated, “For some people, trying to [graduate] as fast as they can just isn’t right for them. For some people, it takes more than four years to finish high school. For me, it took a shorter time. But I definitely think they should take their own path, at their own pace, because that’s when they’re going to get the best results.”

I think many would benefit from heightened awareness of alternate methods of education. An issue that arises from all standardized education systems is that of individuality, and a creative, adaptive approach to the matter has clearly benefited these young students.

--

--

Carter Gorham
The Herald

Enjoys eating but not sleeping. Sleep is kind of a time-waster. Likes Radiohead.