Charleston: A Shopaholic’s Dream Trip

By Malia Hickman

Malia Hickman
The Herald
2 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Shopaholic (noun): a compulsive shopper.

In Courtesy of JR P

Charleston, South Carolina: the city of shopping, lavish dining, and sunny days, on the east coast of Palm Springs. A big caution, going to Charleston requires a pretty penny, but, being a shopaholic, saving money isn’t your thing.

I went to Charleston in 2023, and it was one of the best trips I was able to do. I had a nine-hour car ride and stopped at a few places on the way, includingBeaufort and Myrtle Beach. Recommend making those stops and seeing the wonderful culture and vibrant colors each building brings. Going to Charleston is jaw-dropping, bringing tears of joy running down my face. With all the mansions springing 4 levels high to horse carriages driving down the narrow busty streets.

I fully recommend doing a shopping spree there, offering the best high-end stores, specifically King Street: Golden Goose, Southern Tide, Louis Vuitton, and many more. It’s one of the best shopping I’ve done and got to experience. Not only do they have high-end stores but also casual clothing stores as well, catching the eye of many tourists. Once you go down King Street, you will be leaving with at least one bag of items. I recommend going shopping when it’s not too hot since not every story has shade walking down.

In Courtesy of Malia Hickman

The food is amazing. You cannot go wrong with any choice of food here. I recommend if you’re into barbecue going to Lewis Barbecue, one of the highly-rated restaurants that deserves the rave reviews. I had to wait about 45 minutes for the food, but it was worth it. Again, this restaurant is also pricey, like the stores listed above. There are some other choices that may be more suitable. However, outstanding choice in everything, cannot go wrong with any choice of meat or sides.

As the luxury city it is, there are some historical sites that are worth seeing, such as Fort Sumter and pirate ship tours around the city. There’s a lot of historical information about being one of the first states since the 13 colonies.

With summer coming soon, I recommend Charleston to those who love to spend money. You’ll never find a place nearly as remarkable as Charleston. It’s a dream I continue to daydream about. My favorite spring break trip and hopefully my recommendation is helpful. If there are other things worth mentioning about Charleston, let me know in the comments below!

--

--