Classic Christmas Movies to Watch this Holiday Season

By Katherine Kloepping

Katherine Kloepping
The Herald
2 min readDec 20, 2022

--

If there is one thing that the Kloepping household does well… it’s watching Christmas movies. My family and I have around sixty-one Christmas DVDs (not counting my own small collection and the Hallmark movies that are recorded). But, if I had to choose which movies were my favorite, it would be the classics. I don’t mean ones like How the Grinch Stole Christmas, or Christmas with the Kranks. I mean the original classic movies from the 30’s, 40’s and 50’s. Below, I’ve listed several classic movies that I know you will enjoy!

1. White Christmas

This is an all time classic that I will watch even if it isn’t the Christmas season! Featuring Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney (the aunt of George Clooney if you didn’t know) and Vera Ellen, this movie follows these individuals as they perform from place to place; bringing family and friends together.

Courtesy of Google.com

2. Holiday Inn

This movie stars Bing Crosby, Fred Astaire, Majorie Reynolds and Virginia Dale. Holiday Inn is a wild adventure that follows the main character as he leaves his career behind to run the Holiday Inn — Originally a farm that has been transformed!

Courtesy of google.com

3. It’s a Wonderful Life

Starring Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed, It’s a Wonderful Life is a heartwarming, but heartbreaking, story that follows George (Stewart) from the point of view of his guardian angel Clarence. In this movie, George has given up so much for his family, and eventually, wonders if it was even worth it. After being shown a new perspective, George is faced with the ultimate question: Did he make a difference, even if it wasn’t the way he had wanted it to be?

Courtesy of google.com

In my household, these movies are always watched during the Christmas season (and they are my absolute favorites). Although these aren’t exactly modern movies, they are timeless. So, give these older movies a shot and watch them this holiday season!

--

--