Fall Fashion at Southern Virginia

Tommi Batty
The Herald
Published in
3 min readOct 25, 2021

By Tommi Batty

The air is getting crisp at Southern Virginia University, which calls for the campus community to begin digging in the back of their closets to pull out their favorite fall staple pieces. Everyone loves the hoodie weather, beanie wearing, and layering of clothes that this chilly time brings. I went around campus photographing and interviewing students on what they are excited to be wearing this fall.

Sasha Willie (25’) & Kamryn Bradshaw (25’)

“THEM OVERALLS DUDE, I love my overalls”

- Kamryn Bradshaw

Avery Chapman (23)

Dominic King (22’) & Zack Sullivan (24’)

“I like fall because I can wear pants all the time and layer my tops or wear jackets”

- Dominic King

Caleb Brodie (23’)

Austin Forsyth (22’) & Brianna Guenard (22’)

“I’m excited to finally be able to wear all my flannels!” — Brianna Guenard

Carter Nielsen (23’)

Jared Mattson (23’)

“I was gifted a carmel knit sweater with clasps instead of buttons. It’s the perfect combination of formal yet comfortable and it is the quintessence of autumn!”

Some common trends seen on campus recently include an array of color pallets. I observed the common fall colors: oranges, tan, olive green, navy, and maroons. Bright pops of color are also going to stay in season for the fall. Bright color pallets like blues, purples, and lime green are here to stay. Monochrome neutral color outfits are also becoming popular amongst the community and will be a great change of direction. Layering is one of the most universal fashion statements as this time of the year comes around. Along with jackets and layers, we will be seeing plenty of flannel shirts, denim jeans, leather dress pants, shackets, and ankle boots.

--

--