Gettin’ Grungy: A Playlist by Jex Mecham

By Jex Mecham

Jex Mecham
The Herald
2 min readDec 5, 2023

--

Playlist cover image via TV Time

Have you ever felt like your parents don’t get you? Or that the world is conspiring against you? Do you perhaps shop at Hot Topic on the regular? My answer to those questions is no, but this is what I imagine a playlist would sound like by someone who fits that description. Sometimes you just need some good ol’ alternative/grunge/punk rock to get some angst out.

This playlist is great for working out, jamming in the car, or just walking around. I like to drive to this playlist because it makes me feel like I’m in an early 2000’s Need For Speed video game, and I would highly recommend driving along the Parkway to these songs. To quote the late-great Ricky Bobby, “I wanna go fast” (obeying posted speed limits of course).

My list contains a good variety of songs, with bands like Nirvana, Sorority Noise, and Superheaven making multiple appearances. Any time I find an alt-rock song I like, it gets added to the list. Give it a listen and let me know what you think!

Song list:

  1. Basement-Covet
  2. Nirvana-Negative Creep
  3. Foo Fighters-Everlong
  4. Sorority Noise-Using
  5. Superheaven-Youngest Daughter
  6. Deftones-Bored
  7. Balance and Composure-Stonehands
  8. Superheaven-Sheltered
  9. Title Fight-Lefty
  10. Tigers Jaw-The Sun
  11. Seahaven-Goodnight
  12. Balance and Composure-Notice Me
  13. SWEET SPINE-Darkness
  14. Basement-Blinded Bye
  15. Sorority Noise-Mononokay
  16. Nirvana-Blew

--

--