Southern Virginia University’s Men’s Golf Season Comes To A Close

By Marcos Vinicius da Silva Dias

Marcos Da Silva Dias
The Herald
2 min readApr 18, 2022

--

As the golf season comes to a close, the mens’ team will play their last competition, the USA South Conference Tournament, at The Carolina Country Club in Spartanburg County, South Carolina on April 18.

The team is heading into their last competition of the year very confident after winning their last invitational tournament at the Piney Branch Golf Course in Upperco, Maryland on April 4.

Charles Price (‘24) grabbed the individual championship with an overall score of 73. This was his second individual title of the year.

“I felt really calm in the tournament. It was a tough course, so I just tried to keep myself in it. It felt great to finish off the regular season with a team and individual win. I’ve really enjoyed playing with this group of guys. We push each other to get better and always have each other’s back. It’s nice to be able to play for more than just yourself. I am feeling confident heading into the conference; we have been putting in a lot of work and I am looking forward to competing. “

SVU athletics Page picture

The Knights had a great day at the Stevenson Spring Invitational in Upperco. They came up with the title with a 301 overall score. Charles Price (‘24) had the best score with 73, Jarrett Fultz (‘23) in second with 75 overall, Jake Hanchett (‘23) finished with 76, followed by Kaden Ford (‘25) with 77 and A.J. Colins (‘25) with 80.

“The tournament was great! I really liked the location and set up of the course…It wasn’t a very long golf course, but it required accuracy,” states Jake Hanchett (‘23).

“I’m feeling extremely confident not just in myself but the team as well. My last few tournaments I’ve felt like I’ve been playing some of my best golf ever. I feel confident over the ball which is huge. As we just took off a win as a team and Charles taking home first place individually, it’s a great confidence booster before the conference.’

The golf team practices around 10 hours per week, and they play at the Lexington Country Club to prepare for their competitions. If you want to know more about the men’s golf team click here, and follow their Instagram page.

Go Knights!

--

--

Marcos Da Silva Dias
The Herald

I am a tennis player Student-Athlete from Brazil. I love to make friends and share experiences. Traveling is one of my favorite hobbies.