Headspace: A Guide to Meditation Review

By Donnell Solomon

Donnell Solomon
The Herald
2 min readApr 30, 2022

--

Mental health is a widespread issue that many people struggle to both obtain and maintain. Mental health issues can be tied back to things such as social media, environment, and genetics. Either way, mental health awareness is an important aspect of life.

Personally, I have my own share of mental struggles, experiencing a lot of anxiety and sometimes struggling to deal with it. Headspace is an app that has helped me to learn to take charge of my anxiety, helping me calm down whenever I’m feeling anxious.

Photo from here.

There are all kinds of apps nowadays with various purposes. Some are for entertainment, business, learning, and more. Headspace is an app created for growth and learning. It is meant to help shape and control meditation, sleep, stress, and mindfulness.

Headspace includes many tutorials, videos, and more, that help individuals learn how to meditate, sleep efficiently, lower stress levels, and become more mindful. Learning to do each of these things can be beneficial when it comes to mental health. From using Headspace, I now have a calmer mind and body. Below, I’ve listed three examples of how the app has helped me on a day-to-day basis.

1. Meditation and Stress Levels

Headspace has helped me practice meditation. I learned how to lower my stress by controlling my breathing and taking time to reset and refocus. The reduction of stress has, in turn, helped reduce my anxiety (as they can sometimes go hand-in-hand).

2. Mindfulness

Aside from meditation and stress, Headspace has also helped me become more mindful. Mindfulness is having a sense of awareness of yourself and your environment. For me, it’s been a way of becoming present in my life.

Through Headspace, I have become more mindful and calm through different grounding exercises. The mentality behind mindfulness forces you to analyze your thoughts and feelings on a more objective level, allowing you to process your state of consciousness more easily.

3. Sleep

My sleep is the one thing I am still working on. Through Headspace, I have a goal to sleep better because I have always struggled to fall asleep and stay asleep. Because Headspace has helped me in other aspects of mental health, I am optimistic that it will give me good advice.

While teaching me about the importance of sleep, Headspace can also explain how to benefit from sleep once it’s obtained.

--

--