Op-Ed: I’m an LDS Environmentalist, But I Wish I Wasn’t

The Herald at Southern Virginia University
The Herald
Published in
5 min readApr 23, 2018

By Dr. Samuel Hirt, Assistant Professor of Biology

Much of our identity has a label, name, and with it corresponding stereotypes and stigmas. I would describe myself as a Caucasian, middle-class, heterosexual, LDS, “athletic,” biology professor, and I am also an environmentalist. Many parts of my identity tie me to a community and exclude me from others. It troubles me, however, that I feel the need to distinguish myself as being both LDS and an environmentalist as if they are independent and oddly paired. Environmentalism should be an innate quality of LDS membership, much like the “Word of Wisdom,” big families, and temples are now. In my opinion this association, however, is largely not the case.

Don’t get me wrong, there are many aspects of environmentalism that the general LDS population inherently practices, and I am not advocating that every LDS member should take on extreme actions by shackling themselves to the nearest tree after sacrament meeting, but there are far too many good aspects of environmentalism that are lacking within LDS culture.

Using statistics on Utah as a proxy for general LDS practices, (although not a perfect proxy, I do believe this is the most convenient measurement for such an analysis) Utah ranks 39th out of 50 states as the most environmentally friendly, and 49th in percentage of recycled municipal solid waste. Essentially, when you look at Utah compared to other states, Utah is, at best, a middle-of-the-pack state in multi-faceted measures of environmentalism.

When I make my environmentalist views known among members of my LDS community, I have many times felt the negative stigma and stereotype that goes along with it. This may be just my personal experience, but I feel that there is too often a disconnect between environmentalism and LDS living rather than an inherent adoption of environmental concern. And this isn’t just an LDS trend, research has shown a mixed bag of attitudes and practices toward environmentalism in other religions of the world as well.

Upon examination, however, there is a precedent for environmentalism in LDS doctrine that is rarely discussed as such at many levels of church membership and leadership. Have you ever heard a sacrament talk or conference talk on environmentalism? I have not, and there have been very few that even mention it.

Doctrinally, principles of environmentalism are taught throughout all canons of scripture through the principle of stewardship. Principles of stewardship are first introduced in the creation as man is given “dominion…over every living thing that moveth upon the earth” (Moses 2:26). The principle of stewardship is reiterated in the teachings of Christ in the New Testament and revelations given to Joseph Smith. To be given a stewardship and then to knowingly return such in a dilapidated and polluted state is condemned by God, irresponsible, and immoral. The environmental condition of the earth IS such a stewardship. We could all agree that replanting trees after a harvest, cleaning up oils spills, and not contaminating our waterways are activities in accordance with gospel principles, so why then is there a disconnect when discussing personal contributions such as plastic use, meat consumption, and recycling? Through the doctrine of stewardship, LDS membership is inherently a “green” doctrine. Therefore, when I identify as being LDS, it should naturally include that I am proactive in preserving the condition of the Earth during and after my use of it.

Finally, I must take the opportunity to also point out issues of which LDS membership could manageably be more environmentally forward. First, eat less meat. In the revelation outlining the LDS code of health known as the “Word of Wisdom” (Doctrine and Covenants 89), it says to “eat meat sparingly.” The environmental impacts of meat consumption include greenhouse gas emissions from livestock, the land, water, and resources requirements are much less sustainable, and the overharvesting of fisheries is causing a cascade of negative effects in the ecosystems of the ocean.

Second, use less single-use plastic products, perhaps working toward none. Plastics are ubiquitous in our lives and the mechanism of a convenient lifestyle, but they have also create garbage patches floating in the ocean, kill wildlife, pollute our waterways, and end up back in our food as ground-up microplastics. Plastic bags and straws are a good start, but the problem is much bigger than one product, and there are already many underutilized solutions to this problem.

Finally, embrace environmentalism. Much of the environmental issues of today are crowded by politics, tradition, and social ignorance. So my invitation is to peel back those layers and instead look at environmental issues as they are, and evaluate their worth. Gather unbiased, scientific evidence, examine strengths and weaknesses of solutions and policies, and be involved in your communities. Essentially, take your stewardship seriously, and make a difference, if in nothing else, your personal choices.

Being environmentally conscious can be overwhelming, and can leave you with feelings of desperation, hopelessness, and frustration, but, in my experience, ignoring it does not make those feelings go away either. Doing your part, making steps in the right direction, and educating yourself in the issues feels good! Participating in your stewardship through adopting environmentally friendly practices ultimately brings fulfillment and peace. It is my hope that our current and future LDS culture adopts an environmentalist paradigm to the point that we are a religion known for our care of the environment as much as we are known for many other admirable LDS attributes.

--

--