Make the Most Out of Your Workout: The Best Supplements for Peak Performance

By Michael Ellis

Michael Ellis
The Herald
3 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Supplement Items in Store Aisle. Photo Credit: Sukhjinder.-

Should I be taking supplements? This question has been on my mind lately. I’ve been thinking about how I can maximize my time in the gym. In an effort to find out if there was anything I should do, I did a quick Google search. The results were all over the place and didn’t offer much help. With the question still lingering, I talked to SVU’s Sports Performance Director, Jake Barney. Barney gave me four recommendations of supplements that he thinks are safe for any gymgoer.

1. Creatine

Flickr

Creatine is a naturally occurring substance that is found in meat. It is stored in the muscles and is used as a source of ATP, a form of energy found in the body that is used during short, high-intensity exercise. (https://www.mountsinai.org/health-library/supplement/creatine#:~:text=Creatine%20is%20a%20naturally%2Doccurring,it%20is%20used%20for%20energy) Research says that creatine can aid in strength and performance, allowing an individual to do more work during a rep. This can lead to greater gains in strength and performance in the gym. (https://www.mayoclinic.org/drugs-supplements-creatine/art-20347591)

2. Protein Supplement

Flickr

It is recommended that people that workout regularly should eat 1.2–1.7 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight. So a 68-kilogram person (150 pounds) should eat 81–115g protein per day. (https://newsnetwork.mayoclinic.org/discussion/mayo-clinic-q-and-a-protein-needs-for-performance/) If you are not getting enough protein from the food you are eating, it might be a good idea to look into a protein supplement.

3. Fish Oil/Omega-3

Photo by Jo Christian Oterhals, from Flickr

In some studies, individuals who took a fish oil supplement saw improvement in explosive power, fatigue, and muscle soreness. Other studies have shown improvements in anaerobic endurance. (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7760705/)

Overall, a fish oil supplement is a great idea for any gym goer or athlete looking for performance gains.

4. Beta-Alanine

Flickr

Beta-alanine is an amino acid that produces carnosine. Carnosine reduces lactic acid buildup in your muscles while you exercise. (https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/beta-alanine-101#what-it-is) This reduction in lactic acid leads to increased performance.

I have been taking these supplements for a few weeks now and I am feeling great. I can’t say that the gains in performance have been a direct result from taking these supplements but I can say that I have indeed seen improvements in my strength and performance in the weight room and on the field.

Do you take any supplements? What do you think should be on the list? Let us know what you think in the comments and if you have tried any of these supplements.

--

--