Nico Ramirez: 4x National Qualifier, 3x All-American

By Marcos Vinicius da Silva Dias

Marcos Da Silva Dias
The Herald
3 min readMar 22, 2022

--

On Feb. 26, Nico Ramirez (22), heavyweight wrestler at Southern Virginia University, placed second in the 285 weight bracket at the NCAA Southeast Regionals qualifying for the NCAA National Championships. Ramirez has qualified four consecutive times for nationals during his time at Southern Virginia, making his mark in Southern Virginia’s wrestling history.

“I won’t forget that first time Nico qualified for nationals in 2018. The realization that we had Southern Virginia University’s first national qualifier in the NCAA D3 era was surreal,” says wrestling coach, Logan Davis. “Nico has gone through so many struggles during his wrestling career and endured and overcome every time. Even when he has been down, he has looked to light those around him up.”

“In these last years I have improved a lot, and I think I was able to make some fine adjustments in my game, which I think has made me aim high. I believe that I am capable,” says Ramirez.

Ramirez closed his senior year with a new record for single season wins at Southern Virginia University wrestling, 32–5 and 17 wins by pin.

“Nico’s growth over the last 5 years with us has helped raise the level of belief inside the program, and the level of recognition outside of our program,” stated coach Davis.

Southern Virginia’s wrestling team also has been very successful this season. Statistically, this is the best overall season for the wrestling program, setting a new single season pin record at 83. To Nico, the wrestling team has been essential to his success.

Courtesy of @knight_wrestling on Instagram

“I believe that the intensity of this team helped a lot. Being around people that really supported me when they didn’t have to. I really believe that helped me a lot, and still does.”

Ramirez spends long periods of time preparing for competitions. He lifts almost every day, and preparations are intense.

“I practice a lot and competitions are tough. Sometimes I even bleed when competing. Sometimes I just feel a bit frustrated because I have the feeling that I am not being recognized enough just because I play a sport that isn’t very popular.”

Ramirez and his team drove 13 hours to get to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, to compete at nationals. He competed with other top athletes in the D3 wrestling bracket, placing 5th and earning his 3rd All-American award.

Ramirez’s success in wrestling has sparked the interest in D1 school’s to recruit him for competition when he attends graduate school. As of now, Ramirez plans to take this path and then enter a career in counseling or neuroscience after grad school.

Nico Ramirez is from Belfair, Washington and graduated from North Mason Senior High School. He first arrived at Southern Virginia University in the fall of ‘17 and since then has been breaking records at Southern Virginia.

Although he is graduating this spring, his legacy will continue on.

Ramirez says, “I just want to wrestle.”

If you’re interested in the wrestling team’s overall results, go to the Southern Virginia University athletics page and follow the wrestling team’s Instagram.

Go Knights!

--

--

Marcos Da Silva Dias
The Herald

I am a tennis player Student-Athlete from Brazil. I love to make friends and share experiences. Traveling is one of my favorite hobbies.