Player Tribute: Afton Brown

By Krailyn Guymon

Krailyn Guymon
The Herald
3 min readApr 15, 2022

--

Saturday, April 16 marked senior night for Southern Virginia University’s only softball senior, Afton Brown. Playing collegiate softball for the past three years, Brown became a driving force of inspiration for each of her teammates and coaches, making this year’s senior celebration special.

Every year, Southern Virginia’s softball team celebrates their seniors by giving them gifts from each class. This year, the freshman class decided to be more public with their appreciation by writing a player’s tribute in Brown’s favor. Below are their words of gratitude and appreciation towards the graduating senior.

Photo Curtesy of Tiffane Pendleton

“Although the freshman class only played one year with Afton, I know she made an impact on every single one of us. Afton was the one who reached out before we got here to make sure we knew there was a friend out here before we came. Afton always puts herself on the line for everyone else and leaves it all out on the field every time. I’m sad that I was only able to play with her for one year, but I am so excited to see what she does with the rest of her life! I love and will miss you Afty. Keep giving them the sauce!” Krailyn Guymon (‘23).

“I think Afton is one of the best catchers I’ve ever seen. Her work ethic is so good, and because of that she is going to be very successful in her life. I am so grateful that I got the opportunity to play with her this season and to be her teammate. She is a fun person to be around, and she is a freakin baller.” Samantha Johnson (‘25)

“Afton is one of the funniest people I know. Our senses of humor are literally the same, which means we find the same Tik Toks hilarious. There’s something to say about a pitcher/ catcher bond and I feel like I’ve known her forever. I’ve loved throwing to her. I’m going to miss #7 and all the laughs.” Halle Maddock (‘25)

“Traveling out to college, I was very nervous about meeting new friends. As soon as I got here, Afton took that fear away. She is one the most inclusive people I’ve ever met and she always brings life to the party. Afton, this team won’t be the same without you, but we are so excited to see you succeed. I love you and I’ll miss you, stay in touch!” Chloe Nelson (‘25)

“It’s hard to truly express how much I will miss Afton and everything she has done for this team. She is an amazing friend, teammate, senior and leader. Since the first day I met her she has pushed to get to know each of us! She’s the one to get us all together for game night, bachelor night, or even Croc painting! She’s not only an outstanding softball player but an amazing person and we will all miss her so much. Afton, thank you for leaving us with such an amazing team chemistry and culture. Thank you for being an example to me on and off the field. You have done more for me than you will ever know. I love you and I’m going to miss being your teammate.” Dykell Jones (‘25)

“I used to be nervous to meet Afty because of how open she was when I first joined the team. I remember laughing whenever she would comment on my Snapchat stories asking personal questions. I regret that we never got closer, but I’m so thankful that she was a leader to us all and stood up for each of us. Afty, I’ll miss your very personal questions and all the moments we’ve spent dying of laughter as a team. Love you girlie, kick butt at VT and don’t forget which school is better!” Chloe Cochran (‘23)

SVU Softball Instagram

When unknowingly asked, Brown left us with these words:

“The softball players are all people you should be besties with, so embrace your inner-American — because softball players are hotter than baseball players.”

--

--